IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Music City Raceway Strings Together Winning Tune at IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals

Sunday, 17 September 2023

HOLLY SPRINGS, Ms. — Music City Raceway enjoyed the sweet sound of victory Saturday at the IHRA Division 2 (Heat Wave) Summit Team Finals at Holly Springs Motorsports Park.

The Nashville-area track had four racers reach the final round to take the win over the home team from Holly Springs.

London Dragway finished third, followed by Beacon Dragway and Ethridge Motorsports Park. Sixth through 11th included: Gleason Raceway Park, Centerville Dragway, Jeffers Motorsports Park, Ozark Raceway Park, Newport Raceway and State Capitol Raceway.

Summit Team Finals D2 Team Winner Music City

Steven Bryant, representing Holly Springs, won the Top (Box) individual title with a 6.050-second pass at 112.98 mph on a 6.04 dial-in. He got off the starting line at .109. David Pugh from Music City broke out at 5.936 seconds and 114.16 mph against a 5.94 dial-in.

Summit Team Finals D2 Top Winner Stephen Bryant

Summit Team Finals D2 Top Runner Up David Pugh

A pair of drivers who won Gamblers races earlier in the weekend met in the Mod (No Box) final. Wesley Lockhart from Beacon Dragway pulled off the victory by going down the track in 5.948 seconds at 112.22 mph against a 5.94 dial-in. Tommy Jackson from Holly Springs was runner-up at 8.277 seconds and 79.60 against an 8.24 dial-in despite having a better start.

Summit Team Finals D2 Mod Winner Wesley Lockhart

Summit Team Finals D2 Mod Runner Up Tommy Jackson

Jordan Johnson from Music City matched his dial-in with a 7.765-second pass at 85.60 mph along with a .324 reaction time. Kenton Overstreet from Beacon had a final-round effort of 7.703 seconds at 87.23 mph against 7.68 dial-in with a .492 reaction time.

Summit Team Finals D2 Sportsman Winner Jordan Johnson

Summit Team Finals D2 Sportsman Runner Up Kenton Overstreet

Music City had both Motorcycle finalists with Kane Austin beating Brandon Frame in the championship round. Austin won on a holeshot .096 to .384. Austin finished in 5.893 seconds at 113.69 mph against a dial-in, while Frame was better on his 6.15 dial-in with a 6.156-second run at 110.48 mph.

Summit Team Finals D2 Motorcycle Finalists Kane Austin and Bradon Frame

London Dragway was home track for both Junior Dragster finalists. Kellmen Haidinger had a tremendous .003 reaction time to beat Brenden Paynter on a holeshot. Haidinger added an impressive run of 8.229 seconds at 76.79 mph against an 8.22 dial-in. Paynter finished in 7.893 seconds at 80.86 mph against a 7.90 dial-in.

Summit Team Finals D2 Jr Dragster Winner Kellman Haidinger

Summit Team Finals D2 Jr Dragster Runner Up Brenden Paynter

Check out IHRA.com also for upcoming stories about the IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals Gamblers races and special awards winners. IHRA Division 1 and Division 4 Summit Team Finals are scheduled next weekend at Elk Creek Dragway in Virginia and Xtreme Raceway Park in Texas.  

Last modified on Tuesday, 19 September 2023

IHRA calendarheader

Summit World Finals
Summit SuperSeries, Summit SuperSeries World Finals

Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, October 5th - Saturday, October 7th