IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Confetti Flies as Dishon, Braden, Stout, Fisher, Roby are Bunker Hill Ironman Winners

Monday, 19 June 2023

BUNKER HILL, Ind. — Five drivers raced home with prestigious IHRA Ironman trophies during the IHRA Ironman Classic Saturday at historic Bunker Hill Dragstrip.

In a race that featured a strong turnout of entries, Indiana drivers won four of the five classes at the oldest dragway in the Hoosier State. 

Nick Dishon from Kokomo, Ind., got off to a great start with a .008 reaction time and was right on with a 5.396 second pass on a 5.39 dial-in to take the Top (Box) victory sponsored by Bellman Oil. Mariah Hunter finished in 6.544 seconds on a 6.55 dial-in with a .035 reaction time.

Nick Dishon

Jack Braden from Markle, Ind., captured the Brandts Heating and Cooling Modified (No Box) title. He had the better start .012 to .036 against Mike Pyle, and then went down the track in 6.526 seconds against a 6.50 dial-in. Pyle’s final numbers showed a 6.36 elapsed time against a 6.37 dial-in.

Jack Braden

Jeff Stout from Colfax, Ind., won the All Seasons General Contracting Sportsman race as final-round opponent Thomas Wetter fouled at the start. Stout had a .040 reaction time and then eased down the track in 10.21 seconds. Wetter’s quick start negated a strong run at 8.06 seconds against an 8.03 dial-in.

Jeff Stout

Michigan was represented with Tyler Fisher from Benton Harbor, taking the Schnitz Racing Motorcycle victory. He roared down the drag strip in 5.56 seconds after a .039 reaction time. Runner-up Nick Jones left the starting line -.033 too fast and then posted a time of 6.701 seconds.

Tyler Fisher

Another quick start decided the Billy’s Auto Repair Junior Dragster final. Josh Roby from Fort Wayne was the race winner with an 8.97 elapsed time on an 8.92 dial-in, paired with a .113 reaction time. Gage Byerly was just -.004 too quick at the start to disqualify a potential winning effort of 8.01 seconds against a 7.97 dial-in.

Josh Roby

More great racing is scheduled Saturday with the FSi Thrill at the Hill No Prep Race. The Firecracker Nationals is coming up July 1 and more IHRA Summit SuperSeries points action on July 8.

Click here to keep up with these and other great events at Bunker Hill Dragstrip.

Last modified on Tuesday, 20 June 2023