IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Five Drivers Capture IHRA Ironman Classic Victories at Ozark Raceway Park

Monday, 08 July 2024

ROGERSVILLE, MO — Ozark Raceway Park had a great night of racing with a strong turnout for the IHRA Ironman Classic last Saturday night.

Five racers — Isaac Hill (Top), Shane Rees (Mod), Terry Phelps (Sportsman), Jeff Ridenour (Motorcycle) and Mason Acosta (Junior Dragster) went home with the prestigious IHRA Ironman trophies.

Hill cruised to the Top (Box) victory when his final-round opponent Jason Cypret left the starting tree too early. Hill eased down the 1/8-mile in 7.508 seconds. Cypret had a run hard to beat if not for the foul. He posted a 5.749-second pass at 118.70 mph on a 5.74 dial-in.

Isaac Hill

Both drivers broke out in the Mod (No Box) final, but Rees had the better numbers with a 5.961-second run at 111.52 mph and a .057 reaction time. Bobby Wilbanks had a 7.479-second elapsed time at 91.17 mph and a .069 start.

Shane Rees

Phelps won on a holeshot in the Sportsman final. He had a .027 to .096 advantage at the start and finished in 7.108 seconds at 91.84 mph against a 7.06 dial-in. Current track points leader Steve Carlock Jr. went down the drag strip in 7.161 seconds at 94.90 mph with a 7.15 dial-in time.

Terry Phelps

Ridenhour, nicknamed Sarge, showed the advanced training on his Motorcycle with a 5.687-second run at 125.56 mph against a 5.68 dial-in. John Jones, also the points leader in his class, finished in 5.897 seconds at 117.31 mph with a 5.84 dial-in. Ridenhour was a lot quicker .057 to .283 at the tree.

Jeff Ridenhour

Acosta was on point in the Junior Dragster final with a 7.966-second run at 80.24 mph against a 7.96 dial-in. Runner-up Drayson Cline had an 8.369-second pass at 77.33 mph against an 8.37 dial-in. Acosta had the .018 reaction time to .062 for Cline.

Mason Acosta

Ozark Raceway Park is scheduled to host No Prep Warz on July 19-20.

Last modified on Monday, 08 July 2024

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals D6 - Thunder Valley Dragways
Thunder Valley Dragway
Thursday, August 22nd - Saturday, August 24th
Summit Team Finals D1 - Roxboro Motorsports Park
Roxboro Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 5th - Saturday, September 7th
Summit Team Finals D2 - Holly Springs Motorsports
Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, September 12th - Saturday, September 14th
Summit Team Finals D3 - Quaker City Motorsports Park
Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st
Summit Team Finals D5 - US41 Dragstrip
US41 Dragstrip
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st