IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

May, Thacker, Durham, Leigh, Kirkpatrick are Muncie Ironman Winners

Thursday, 29 June 2023

MUNCIE, Ind. — Wes May and Larry Thacker headlined winners of the IHRA Ironman Classic last Saturday at Muncie Dragway. Melissa Durham, Jake Leigh and Byron Kirkpatrick also came through with victories at the historic Indiana track.

May drove his Buick Regal to the victory in the Diamond Engine and Machine Top (Box) class. He topped Brian Flynn in the final round to win the prestigious IHRA Ironman trophy as well as a $3,000 winner’s purse.

Wes May

Thacker was the winner of the Sam Pierce Chevrolet Modified (No Box) class. He beat Kyle Hall in the final round and then rolled over to face the best Top drivers where he finished in the semifinals.

Larry Thacker

The Ironman added to a first career win for Durham in the Adam’s Auto Repair Sportsman ranks. She defeated Duffy Baldauf in the final round.

Melissa Durham

There were two Albany Golf Club Juniors categories. Leigh bested Max White in the Majors class final and Kirkpatrick was the Minor winner over Mitchell Dailey.

Jake Leigh

A couple of other races were held Saturday with Hall beating Shane Daugherty in the Mod final. Todd Clark won twice over the weekend. He collected $3,000 by beating Justin Daniels in Saturday’s second Top race. He also captured the win in Friday night’s Coan Engineering race as he defeated May in the final round. Johnathan Nelson was the last No Box racer standing.

Byron Kirkpatrick

There are lots of other great events coming up at Muncie Dragway including the IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser Engineering and FuelTech on Saturday, July 15. Click here to check out the track’s Facebook page.

Last modified on Thursday, 29 June 2023