IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

West, Stephan Headline List of IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular Winners at Xtreme

Monday, 29 July 2019

TRUMBULL, Texas — Racers from Texas and Oklahoma came away big winners at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman Spectacular over the weekend at Xtreme Raceway Park.

Tripp West and Jake Howard took Super Pro and Pro wins during Moser Engineering Saturday. John Stephan and Scooter Hamlin ruled those classes during Battle Born Batteries Sunday.


West from Walters, Okla., captured Saturday’s Super Pro title with a final-round run of 6.296 seconds at 107.86 mph against a 6.28 dial-in. His reaction time of .008 was slightly better than the .011 posted by runner-up Josh Burrow from Forney, Texas. Burrow went down the track in 6.301 seconds at 106.38 mph against a 6.29 dial-in.Sat WC West

Howard won on a holeshot (.013 to .048) to capture the Pro division win. He had an elapsed time of 6.558 seconds at 104.90 mph against a 6.55 dial-in, while runner-up Kevin Martin from Springtown, Texas finished in 6.094 seconds at 111.83 mph against a 6.10 dial-in.Sat WC Howard

The event also featured a 500 race with Bruce Dodson from Grand Prairie, Texas getting the win after Steve Wang from Norman, Okla, redlighted in the final. Dodson posted a 4.97 elapsed time at 137.11 mph, while Wang finished his run in 5.742 seconds at 138.21 mph.


Bobby Bates from Paris, Texas won on a holeshot in the 550 race. His start of .007 eclipsed the .040 posted by runner-up Steven Hanson from Red Oak, Texas. Bates went down the track in 5.517 seconds at 114.13 mph, while Hanson ended in 5.525 seconds at 124.04 mph.


Kenny Teer from Roanoke, Texas won the Street race after finishing in 7.578 seconds at 88.01 mph against a 7.52 dial-in. Brandy Ray from Blooming Grove, Texas had the better start .107 to .131, but came up short with an elapsed time of 10.342 seconds at 68.43 mph against a 10.38 dial-in.


In the Quick Open class, Don Boulware from Irving, Texas won with a 4.648 elapsed time at 146.06 mph against a 4.62 dial-in, coupled with a .026 reaction time. Runner-up Bryce Self finished in 4.687 seconds at 146.87 mph against a 4.67 dial-in with a .040 reaction time.


Addyson Owen from Corsicana, Texas ruled the Junior Dragster ranks with a holeshot win .030 to .102 over Logan Atkins from Lewisville, Texas. Owen also had a winning pass of 7.908 seconds at 82.19 mph, while Atkins had an 11.921-second run at 52.64 mph.Sat WC Owen

Stepan was quick at the starting line with a .005 reaction time and solid down the track to win Sunday’s Super Pro final. The Grand Prairie, Texas driver recorded a 6.158-second run at 109.97 mph against a 6.15 dial-in. Runner-up Ronny Crow from Justin, Texas had a .019 reaction time and went 5.858 seconds at 117.37 mph against a 5.83 dial-in.Sun WC Stephan

Hamlin from Tomball, Texas won a closely-contested Pro final with a 6.757-second pass at 100.31 mph against a 6.75 dial-in, along with a .034 reaction time. Ian Dunaway came up just short with a package which included a 6.082-second run at 112.90 mph against a 6.08 dial-in, along with a .040 reaction time.Sun WC Hamlin

Owen’s hopes for sweeping the weekend in the Junior Dragster ranks were dashed when she fouled at the start. Justin Miles from Gilmer, Texas took the trophy with a 7.692-second pass at 80.37 mph. Owen went on down the track with a 7.915-second run at 83.80 mph.D4S 8759

The IHRA Summit Sportsman Spectacular returns August 23-25 at Maryland International Raceway.

Last modified on Monday, 29 July 2019
Sportsman Spectacular.jpg

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: Muncie Dragway
Muncie Dragway
Saturday, July 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Motormile Dragway
Motormile Dragway
Saturday, July 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Quaker City Motorsports Park
Quaker City Motorsports Park
Saturday, July 22nd
Sportsman Spectacular: Central Illinois Dragway
Central Illinois Dragway
Saturday, August 19th