IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Elk Creek Dragway Earns IHRA Division 1 Summit Team Finals Title

Monday, 25 September 2023

ELK CREEK, Va. — Elk Creek Dragway made its first time hosting an IHRA Summit Team Finals most memorable by racing to the Division 1 (Patriots) championship.

The squad representing the scenic Virginia track came out ahead of Motor Mile Dragway and Roxboro Motorsports Park in the team standings.

Summit Team Finals D1 TEAM WINNER Elk Creek Dragway

Five individual champions took home prestigious IHRA Ironman trophies.

In a matchup of Motor Mile racers, Lance Howdyshell bested Ron Barlow in the Box final. Howdyshell’s final numbers included a 6.637-second pass at 102.32 mph against a 6.63 dial-in. Barlow was better at the start with a .016 to .052 advantage, and then powered down the track in 5.11 seconds at 135.13 mph against a 5.12 dial-in.

Summit Team Finals D1 Box Winner Lance Howdyshell

Summit Team Finals D1 Box Runner Up Ron Barlow 

Brandon White from Elk Creek was the No Box champion with a final-round run of 6.182 seconds and 107.32 mph on a 6.17 dial-in. Runner-up Henry Stanley from Roxboro posted a 5.912-second pass at 116.33 mph against a 5.90 dial-in. White was better at the tree with a .029 to .046 reaction time.

Summit Team Finals D1 NO BOX WINNER Brandon White

Summit Team Finals D1 NO BOX RUNNER UP Henry Stanley 

Jessica Hash from Elk Creek was spot on at the start with a .004 reaction time in the Sportsman final. She drove her Nova to 7.609-second run at 86.18 mph on a 7.58 dial. Elk Creek driver Robbie Copenhaver, who posted a solid .011 start, finished in 9.902 seconds at 68.32 mph against a 9.67 dial-in.

 Summit Team Finals D1 SPORTSMAN winner Jessica Hash

Summit Team Finals D1 SPORTSMAN RUNNER UP Robbie Copenhaver

Will Willard was the Junior Dragster winner as fellow Elk Creek racer Colt Devine triggered the red light in their final. Willard was quick at the tree with a .007 reaction time and then tacked on an 8.60-second run at 64.22 mph. Devine went on to have a fast pass down the drag strip in 8.001 seconds at 80.13 mph.

 Summit Team Finals D1 JR.DRAGSTER WINNER Will Willard

Summit Team Finals D1 Jr Dragster Runner Up Colt Devine

Dillan Clevinstine picked up the Motorcycle win when opponent Caleb Hamm had mechanical issues and wasn’t able to run in the final.

Summit Team Finals D1 MOTORCYCLE WINNER Dillan Clevinstine 

Congratulations to Elk Creek Dragway in becoming champions as well as being terrific hosts. Also congratulations to all the racers who qualified for the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals.

Last modified on Tuesday, 26 September 2023

IHRA calendarheader

No events