IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Onawa Dragway Captures IHRA Division 6 (Midwest) Summit Team Finals Title

Sunday, 27 August 2023

ONAWA, Iowa — Onawa Dragway raced to the home track victory Saturday in the IHRA Division 6 (Midwest) Summit Team Finals.

Racers from the Iowa drag strip put together the winning effort with Thunder Valley Dragways taking runner-up honors and Humboldt County Dragway third. There were individual champions in five classes — Top (Box), Mod (No Box), Sportsman, Motorcycle and Junior Dragster — who gained entry into the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals in October.

Summit Team Finals Team Winner Division 6 Onawa Dragway

Matt Selden raced to the Top (Box) victory despite final-round opponent Scott Hendersen being quicker .008 to .029 at the start. But, Selden made up for it with a winning 4.849-second pass at 139.88 mph in his dragster. Hendersen broke out from his 5.05 dial-in with a 5.033 elapsed time.

Summit Team Finals Winner Division 6 Top Box Winner Matt Selden

Summit Team Finals Winner Division 6 Top Box Runner Up Scott Henderesen

Joe McCarty parked the Miss Behavin’ Ford Mustang in the winner’s circle for the Mod (No Box) class. McCarty, who had a .026 to .051 advantage over runner-up Colton Bierle at the tree, was solid with a 7.518-second run at 88.86 mph against a 7.51 dial-in. Bierle finished in 5.891 seconds at 116.40 mph against a 5.88 dial-in.

Summit Team Finals Winner Division 6 Mod Joe MCcarty

Summit Team Finals Winner Division 6 Mod Runner Up Colton Bierle

Terry Vanerzanden powered his show car quality black Dodge Coronet down the track in 7.817 seconds at 90.95 mph against a 7.79 dial-in to win the Sportsman final. Kirk Breier was his final-round opponent and went 7.641 seconds against a 7.65 dial-in. Vanerzanden had the quicker reaction time, .039 to .056, over Breier.

Summit Team Finals sportsman WINNER Division 6 Terry Vanerzanden

Summit Team Finals sportsman runner up Division 6 Kirk Breier

The Motorcycle class also included sleds and there was a matchup between the two in the final round. Two wheels proved to be better for Brian Wood than no wheels. Wood’s blue motorcycle was spot-on with a 5.441-second pass at 123.19 mph against a 5.44 dial-in, along with a .069 start. Runner-up Rob Crawford was right there with his sled, finishing 7.336 seconds at 83.53 mph with a .090 reaction time.

Summit Team Finals Motorcycle Winner Brian Wood

Summit Team Finals MOTORCYCLE Runner Up ROB CRAWFORD

Taylor Hansen was the Junior Dragster winner after a break-out by final-round opponent Cecilia Slifka. Hansen was right on target with a 7.633-second run at 84.40 mph against a 7.63 dial-in. Slifka appeared to be in great shape to win on a holeshot with her .006 reaction time to .087 for Hansen. She finished in 8.047 seconds at 80.50 mph against an 8.06 dial-in.

Summit Team Finals Jr Dragster Winner Taylor Hansen Division6

Summit Team Finals Jr Dragster Runner Up Cecilia Slifka Division6

Congratulations to all those who participated in the IHRA Division 6 (Midwest) Summit Team Finals. Keep checking out IHRA.com and our social media pages for the winners of Gamblers’ races and special awards.

IHRA calendarheader

Summit World Finals
Summit SuperSeries, Summit SuperSeries World Finals

Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, October 5th - Saturday, October 7th