IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

IHRA Summit Team Finals Ready to Crank Back Up

Monday, 11 September 2017

The International Hot Rod Association Summit Team Finals crank back up this weekend with events scheduled at three different tracks.

Teams from Division 2 East (Heat Wave) will compete at Carolina Dragway in Aiken, S.C., those from Division 3 (North Stars) will be at Keystone Raceway Park in New Alexandria, Pa., and those from Division 5 (Thunder) will race at US 131 Motorsports Park in Martin, Mich.

Each region hosts a Summit Team Finals for every IHRA division. Any Summit SuperSeries competitor, who has an IHRA membership and an “X” number registered and valid according to IHRA records from May 1 through his or her division’s Summit Team Finals event, can win the Summit Team Finals main event championship and become eligible for the Summit SuperSeries World Finals at Memphis on Oct. 20-22.

Division 2 East (Heat Wave) is made up of South Carolina drag strips. Besides the host Carolina Dragway, it includes the historic Darlington Dragway, Dorchester Dragway and Ware Shoals Dragway.

Carolina Dragway took last year's team title. Individual winners were: Mark Cooper, representing Carolina Dragway, in the Top E.T. class, Tim Butler in the Modified E.T. class and Brad Johnson in Junior Dragster.

Division 3 (North Stars) features some of the top tracks in an area that stretches from New York through Pennsylvania and Ohio to Kentucky. The list includes: Keystone Raceway Park, Quaker City Motorsports Park, Empire Dragway, Beaver Springs Dragway, Thompson Raceway Park, Lancaster Dragway, Skyview Drags, Dragway 42 and I-64 Dragway.

Keystone Raceway Park won last year's team title, while individual winners included: Dale Duche of Keystone in Top E.T., Vic Ellinger of Thompson Raceway Park in Modified E.T., Thompson's David Mann in Street and Lane Kahey of Beaver Springs Dragway in Junior Dragster.

Division 5 (Thunder) cuts across the upper Midwest with some of the most historic drag strips in the country. The list includes: Bunker Hill Dragstrip, Central Illinois Dragway, Cordova International Raceway, Eddyville Raceway Park, Grand Bend Motorplex, Great Lakes Dragaway, Marion County International Raceway, Muncie Dragway, Osecola Dragway, St. Thomas Raceway Park, Ubly Dragstrip, US 131 Motorsports Park, US 41 Motorplex and Wisconsin International Raceway.

U.S. 131 Motorsports Park is the defending Division 5 team champion. Randy Norris from Great Lakes Dragaway won the Top E.T. race. U.S. 131 racers Mark Howard, Donnie Hagar and Luke Schweimer won titles in the Modified, Street and Junior Dragster divisions.

For more information, refer to the Summit SuperSeries rules page on the IHRA.com website.

Last modified on Tuesday, 12 September 2017

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Penwell Knights Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Penwell Knights Raceway
Saturday, March 16th
Sportsman Spectacular - Knoxville Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Knoxville Dragway
Saturday, March 30th
IHRA Hot Rod Classic - Xtreme Raceway Park
Hot Rod Classic

Xtreme Raceway Park
Thursday, April 11th - Saturday, April 13th
Sportsman Spectacular - Beacon Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Beacon Dragway
Saturday, April 27th
IHRA Hot Rod Classic - Darlington Dragway
Hot Rod Classic

Darlington Dragway
Thursday, May 2nd - Saturday, May 4th