IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Farmington Dragway wins Division 9 Summit Team Finals; six drivers advance in Summit SuperSeries

Monday, 29 September 2014

The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals presented by AMSOIL season continued over the weekend with the Division 9 Team Finals at Piedmont Dragway in North Carolina.

In the team competition, Farmington Dragway won the event with a commanding 30 point margin over Mooresville Dragway. Farmington Dragway racked up 72 points over the course of the weekend, followed by Mooresville Dragway with 42. Fayetteville Motorsports Park finished third with 35 points, followed by Piedmont Dragway (35) and Greer Dragway (34) Other participants included Elk Creek Dragway, Rockingham Dragway and Coastal Plains Dragway.

MainEvent Piedmont Top Winner

   Top ET Main Event winner Michael Paschal

In the Division 9 Summit SuperSeries runoff, Shane Maddox, Ken Myrick and Dawson Wiggins won their respective classes and will join runner-up finishers Terry Goff, Ernie Humes and Parker Dotson at the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals October 10-11 at Memphis International Raceway.

Shane Maddox won the Top ET Summit SuperSeries runoff Friday at Piedmont Dragway over Terry Goff. Maddox, from Greer Dragway, had a .008 reaction time combined with a 4.651-second elapsed time on a 4.63 dial at 141.13 mph, just holding Coastal Plains Dragway’s Goff at bay. Goff had a 6.791 on a 6.77 at 100.16 mph in the runner-up finish.

In Mod ET Ken Myrick, representing host track Piedmont Dragway, bested Farmington Dragway’s Ernie Humes. Myrick led wire to wire in the victory, crossing the stripe with a 7.354 on a 7.38 at 92.35 mph. Humes had a 6.823 on a 6.86 at 98.93.

MainEvent Piedmont Mod Winner

   Mod ET Main Event winner Derek Harris

Junior Dragster wrapped up Friday’s Summit SuperSeries action at Piedmont Dragway as Dawson Wiggins, from Fayetteville Motorsports Park, won over Parker Dotson, from Greer Dragway, who broke prior to the final. Wiggins had a 9.162 on a 9.12 at 69.52 in the solo finale.

Other big winners from the Division 9 Summit Team Finals included Main Event champions Michael Paschal (Farmington Dragway) in Top ET, Derek Harris (Farmington Dragway) in Mod ET and A.J. Dantzer (Mooresville Dragway) in Junior Dragster.

MainEvent Piedmont Jr Winner

   Junior Dragster Main Event winner A.J. Dantzer

Complete results from the Division 9 Summit Team Finals presented by AMSOIL at Piedmont Dragway can be found below.

Division 9 Summit Team Finals Team Standings

1. Farmington Dragway – 72
2. Mooresville Dragway – 42
3. Fayetteville Motorsports Park – 35
4. Piedmont Dragway – 35
5. Greer Dragway – 34
6. Elk Creek Dragway – 27
7. Rockingham Dragway – 26
8. Coastal Plains Dragway – 21


sss piedmont top final

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET - Shane Maddox, Greer Dragway, (.008) 4.651 on 4.63, 141.13 def. Terry Goff, Coastal Plains Dragway, (.031) 6.791 on 6.77, 100.16

sss piedmont mod final

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET - Ken Myrick, Piedmont Dragway, (.026) 7.354 on 7.38, 92.35 def. Ernie Humes, Farmington Dragway, (.051) 6.823 on 6.86, 98.93

sss piedmont jr final

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR DRAGSTER - Dawson Wiggins, Fayetteville Motorsports Park, (.042) 9.162 on 9.12, 69.52 def. Parker Dotson, Greer Dragway, broke


Main Event Top ET – Michael Paschal, Farmington Dragway, (.021) 5.745 on 5.73, 118.38 def. Rick Whaley, Piedmont Dragway, (-.004) foul

Main Event Mod ET – Derek Harris, Farmington Dragway, (.019) 6.499 on 6.46, 98.24 def. Jeff Flood, Mooresville Dragway, (.072) 6.378 on 6.38, 109.18

Main Event Juniors – A.J. Dantzer, Mooresville Dragway, (.081) 7.931 on 7.93, 82.37 def. Jessica Winkler, Mooresville Dragway, (-.012) foul

Team Captains Race – Chris Morrison, Rockingham Dragway, 10.733, 67.05 def. Tony Quatkemeyer, Coastal Plains Dragway, 10.577, 59.92


Best Appearing Open Bodied Car – Tim Lucas (Fayetteville Motorsports Park)

Best Engineered Open Bodied Car – Bruce Darrell Collins (Piedmont Dragway)

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car – Tabitha Draughon (Fayetteville Motorsports Park)

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car – Chris Dean (Piedmont Dragway)

Best Appearing Junior Dragster – Austin Rivenbark (Coastal Plains Dragway)

Best Engineered Junior Dragster – Tyler Duff (Coastal Plains Dragway)

Best Team Spirit – Fayetteville Motorsports Park

Best Appearing Sponsor Banner – Piedmont Dragway

Best Appearing Team – Greer Dragway

Best Team Mascot – Elk Creek Dragway

Last modified on Monday, 29 September 2014

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, May 25th
Sportsman Spectacular - Dragway 42
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Dragway 42
Saturday, May 25th
Sportsman Spectacular - Humboldt County Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Humboldt County Dragway
Saturday, June 1st
Sportsman Spectacular - Albuquerque Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Albuquerque Dragway
Saturday, June 22nd
Sportsman Spectacular - Bunker Hill Dragstrip
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Bunker Hill Dragstrip
Saturday, July 6th