IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom
  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 6350

McIntire, Goforth, Turner, Byrum, Larsen win IHRA Nitro Jam series season opener at Tucson

Saturday, 07 February 2015
Mike McIntire, AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car winner Mike McIntire, AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car winner Chris Simmons


The first race of the 2015 International Hot Rod Association’s Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series season now is in the record books. Fans at Southwestern International Raceway in Tucson, Ariz., were treated to an exciting show as Mike McIntire (AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car), Cary Goforth U.S. Bounty Hunters Pro Stocks), Jay Turner (Nitro Harley-Davidsons), Lyle Byrum (CIFCA Funny Cars) and Elaine Larsen (Jet Dragsters) scored impressive wins at the Good Vibrations Nitro Jam Southwestern Nationals presented by Budweiser.

AMSOIL NITRO FUNNY CAR: McIntire, of Mentor, Ohio, set a new IHRA Nitro Funny Car world record when he made a blistering pass of 5.680 seconds (256 miles per hour) in his new “McAttack” second-generation Camaro during the third round of qualifying and backed it up with a run of 5.708 seconds (251.06 miles per hour) during the second round of eliminations.

McIntire defeated Jason Rupert of Yorba Linda, Calif., in the AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car final, when his opponent fouled (“red-lit”) on the starting line. McIntire caught a break as his car’s burst panel activated as broken parts scattered from the orange Chevrolet after leaving the starting line. For the record books, McIntire crossed the finish line at 13.555 seconds (62.89 miles per hour).

When asked if he thought he would set a new Nitro Jam Funny Car record at this event, McIntire simply replied, “No. We were just doing our normal deal and it just happened to happen. My crew, I couldn’t do it without them. My wife, it’s a family deal, friends, all volunteers. You couldn’t ask for anything better.”

To face Rupert in the AMSOIL Nitro Funny Car final, McIntire defeated Will Martin in the first round and Kris Krabill in the second. Rupert defeated Mark Sanders in the opening round and took out Tim Boychuk in the second.

U.S. BOUNTY HUNTERS MOUNTAIN MOTOR PRO STOCKS: Goforth met John Deflorian of Arnold, Mo., in the final round of eliminations for the U.S. Bounty Hunters Pro Stock class. Goforth defeated Deflorian 6.348 sec./219.72 mph to 6.40 sec./217.98 mph.

Goforth earned his way into the final by defeating Canada’s John Konigshofer in the first round and Texan Scott Hintz in the second. Deflorian trailered J.R. Carr in the opening round of eliminations and waded into the final by defeating John Decalvo in the second.

NITRO HARLEY-DAVIDSON: Turner defeated Randal Andras of Amelia, La., 6.383 sec./221.02 mph to 6.402 sec./228.04 mph.

Andras defeated Tracy Kile of North Carolina in the first round and topped Brian Jernigan in the second. Turner beat Rickey House in the first round and Ron Gledhill of Arizona in the second.

JET DRAGSTER: Elaine Larsen of West Welborne, Fla., defeated 19-year-old Katarina “Kat” Moller of Port Orange, Fla., on a hole shot, 5.73 sec./281.77 mph to 5.85 sec./273.50 mph.

“Kat was reeling me in (after the hole shot). My son was tuning Kat’s car and in the middle of the night he said, ‘I think we’re gonna win, we’re not gonna mess with Kat’s tune-up, so you better watch out.’ It’s girl power, baby. We brought it home for the Miller (Welding) boys in blue.”



AMSOIL Nitro Funny Cars

Winner: Mike McIntire (Mentor, Ohio) Camaro 13.555 sec./62.89 mph.

Runner-up: Jason Rupert (Yorba Linda, Calif.) Camaro 13.394 sec./56.77 mph.


Nitro Harley-Davidson

Winner: Jay Turner (Julian, N.C.) 6.383 sec./221.02 mph.

Runner-up: Randal Andras (Amelia, La.) 6.402 sec./228.04 mph.


U.S. Bounty Hunters Mountain Motor Pro Stock

Winner: Cary Goforth (Holdenville, Okla.) Camaro 6.348 sec./219.72 mph.

Runner-up: John Deflorian Jr. (Arnold, Mo.) Camaro 6.40 sec./217.98 mph.


Jet Dragster

Winner: Elaine Larsen (W. Welborne, Fla.) 5.73 sec./281.77 mph.

Runner-up: Katarina Moller (Sarasota, Fla.) 5.85 sec./273.50 mph.


CIFCA Funny Cars

Winner: Lyle Byrum (El Paso, Tex.) Daytona 7.57 sec./174.89 mph.

Runner-up: Andy Mears (Lubbock, Tex.) 1957 Bel Air 7.53 sec./167.68 mph.


Top Sportsman

Winner: Marlon Goates (Troy, Texas) 1997 Cutlass 7.468 sec/178.28 mph.

Runner-up: Marty Blair (Spicewood, Texas) 1996 Corvette 7.818 sec./180.07 mph.

Top Dragster

Winner: Jimmy Wenger (Odessa, Texas) 2004 Undercover 7.442 sec./178.71 mph.

Runner-up: Trish Williams (Tucson, Ariz.) 1995 N&P 6.950 sec./190.48 mph.

Super Stock

Winner: Brian Weber (Black Diamond, Wash.) 1986 Camaro 10.588 sec./122.19 mph.

Runner-up: Mike Graham (Tempe, Ariz.) 2000 Mustang 11.076 sec./115.25 mph.

Stock Eliminator

Winner: Brad Hawk (Tucson, Ariz.) 1988 Mustang 12.604 sec./102.36 mph.

Runner-up: Brian Schultz (Stanchfield, Minn.) 1971 Duster 10.904 sec./120.37 mph.

Quick Rod

Winner: Chuck Hawk Jr. (Tucson, Ariz.) 2011 Spitzer 9.183 sec./150.40 mph.

Runner-up: Jim Berry (Dexter, New Mex.) 2008 Cameron (fouled) 10.707 sec./97.24 mph.

Super Rod

Winner: Scott Rollins (Phoenix, Ariz.) 1969 Camaro 10.213 sec./155.72 mph.

Runner-up: Wayne Smith (Chandler, Ariz.) 1995 Camaro 10.169 sec./155.47 mph.

Hot Rod

Winner: Bernie Polvadore (Sun City, Ariz.) 1993 Grand Prix 11.201 sec./159.95 mph.

Runner-up: Dwight Downing (Glendale, Ariz.) 1979 Arrow 11.144 sec./132.28 mph.

Box ET

Winner: Chuck Hawk Jr. (Tucson, Ariz.) 2000 S10 8.375 sec./164.65 mph.

Runner-up: Don Toia (Tucson, Ariz.) 1933 Chevrolet roadster (fouled) 11.590 sec./71.20 mph.

No Box ET

Winner: Chuck Sorensen (Elgin, Ariz.) 1973 Nova 11.140 sec./111.73 mph.  

Runner-up: Steve Thill (Rio Rico, Ariz.) 1979 Capri 12.483 sec./74.48 mph.


Winner: David Oller (Tucson, Ariz.) 1978 Kawasaki 9.851 sec./131.55 mph.

Runner-up: Jim Burris Jr. (Tucson, Ariz.) 2009 Harley-Davidson 10.513 sec./128.08 sec.

Street ET

Winner: Tony Leichliter (Tucson, Ariz.) 2008 Tundra 14.835 sec./91.96 mph.

Runner-up: John Amstutz (Tucson, Ariz.) 1978 Camaro 12.320 sec./108.81 mph.

8-12 Jr. Dragsters

Winner: Kyle Vance (Tucson, Ariz.) 14.145 sec./45.78 mph.

Runner-up: Keeli Tatge (Tucson, Ariz.) 9.247 sec./70.72 mph.


13-18 Jr. Dragsters

Winner: Savannah Kidd (Marana, Ariz.) 9.627 sec./67.33 mph.

Runner-up: Alex Gray (Tucson, Ariz.) 8.649 sec./78.75 mph.

Last modified on Thursday, 12 February 2015

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Albuquerque Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Albuquerque Dragway
Saturday, June 22nd
Sportsman Spectacular - Bunker Hill Dragstrip
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Bunker Hill Dragstrip
Saturday, July 6th
Sportsman Spectacular - Quaker City Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Quaker City Motorsports Park
Saturday, July 20th
Sportsman Spectacular - Ethridge Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Ethridge Motorsports Park
Saturday, July 27th
Summit Team Finals D6 - Thunder Valley Dragways
Summit Team Finals

Thunder Valley Dragway
Thursday, August 22nd - Saturday, August 24th