IHRA-Motorsports-2013-Final-4C-vector web ihra-sportsman-2020-btn ihra-sss-btn ihra-team-finals-btn2 drag-review
navbar bottom

IHRA unveils Summit SuperSeries championship dragsters, recognizes special award winners at 2014 IHRA Awards Celebration

Friday, 10 October 2014

The International Hot Rod Association announced its 2014 special award winners and unveiled its two Summit SuperSeries championship dragsters all at the 2014 IHRA Awards Celebration Friday morning at the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals at Memphis International Raceway.

Multi-class competitor John Dustin was named the 2014 recipient of the IHRA’s most prestigious award, Sportsman Driver of the Year, given to the driver who had the best overall season on the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Pro-Am Tour presented by AMSOIL.

John Dustin - Sportsman Driver

   IHRA Sportsman Driver of the Year John Dustin

The International Hot Rod Association’s Top Performers by division are John Dustin (D1), Michael Ruff (D2), Jeff Southerland (D3), Jimmy Hidalgo Jr. (D4), Tom Patterson (D6) and Glenn Ferguson Jr. (D9). IHRA’s Top Pro-Am Tour tracks by division are Pittsburgh Raceway Park (D1), Bradenton Motorsports Park (D2), London Dragway (D3), Pine Valley Raceway (D4), Northern Lights Raceway (D6) and Rockingham Dragway (D9).

Dustin was named the 2014 Sportsman Driver of the Year for his incredible season in two classes. Dustin won five races this season en route to winning the division championship in Hot Rod and finishing runner-up in Quick Rod in Division 1. Dustin also racked up the most points of any driver on the Summit Pro-Am Tour this season with 538 points in Hot Rod.

Finally, the IHRA closed the celebration by unveiling the 2014 IHRA Summit SuperSeries championship dragsters given to the winners of the Top ET and Junior Dragster classes during the Summit World Finals. The two dragsters, featuring a beautiful Summit Racing Equipment scheme painted and designed by Jerron Settles of Imagine That Customs and built by outstanding builders TNT Supercars and JR Race Car, brought the crowd to their feet.

Awards 1

Settles, Kevin Horner (JR Race Car) and Dillon Bontrager (TNT Supercars) were on hand to unveil the two dragsters, in addition to Jim Greenleaf and Don Lower from Summit Racing Equipment, Mike Downs from Trick Flow and Ronny Young from Performax Trailers who will award a brand new trailer to the winner of the Mod ET class.

The 2014 IHRA racing season will conclude this weekend at the 2014 IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals at Memphis International Raceway with championships awarded in five Nitro Jam classes and 10 IHRA sportsman classes.

Awards 2

Awards 3

Awards 5

Last modified on Friday, 10 October 2014
IHRA socialMedia facebook IHRA socialMedia twitter IHRA socialMedia youtube
  Instagram App   

IHRA calendarheader
Darlington Dragway Sportsman Spectacular (Double) Event Weekend
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Darlington Dragway
Saturday, July 11th - Sunday, July 12th
Maryland International Raceway Sportsman Spectacular (Double) Event Weekend
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Maryland International Raceway
Friday, August 21st - Sunday, August 23rd
Little River Dragway Junior Team Finals
Summit Junior SuperSeries

Holland, TX
Friday, September 4th - Sunday, September 6th
Summit Team Finals | Midwest
Summit Team Finals

Eddyville Raceway Park
Thursday, September 10th - Sunday, September 13th
Summit Team Finals | Division 3 (North Stars)
Summit Team Finals

Keystone Raceway Park
Thursday, September 17th - Sunday, September 20th