IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Soucek, Collier, Bowman are Big Winners at Dragway 42's Hootenanny No Box Open

Monday, 01 July 2024

WEST SALEM, OH — Cadence Soucek, Steven Collier and Nick Bowman took home big checks and the prestigious IHRA Ironman trophies from the third annual CJW Solutions Hootenanny No Box Open at Dragway 42 over the weekend.

Soucek had the biggest check, in the form of $10,000, after winning Saturday’s main event sponsored by Battleaxe Vickers Performance Transmissions.

In an incredibly competitive Saturday final, Collier had the perfect .000 start, while Soucek was a solid .010 at the tree. But, Collier broke out with a 6.875-second run at 98.30 mph against a 6.88 dial-in. Soucek posted a 6.671-second elapsed time at 100.76 mph against a 6.66 dial in her Chevy Nova.

Cadence Soucek

(No Box Winner — Cadence Soucek)

Steven Collier

(No Box Runner-Up — Steven Collier)

Phil Combs, also driving a Nova, won the 32-Car Shootout. His winning package included a 6.299-second pass at 103.62 mph against a 6.28 dial-in. Jason Profitt went down the track in 6.734 seconds at 99.82 mph against a 6.72 dial-in. Combs also had a .032 to .037 advantage at the start.

Phil Combs

(32-Car Shootout Winner — Phil Combs)

Jason Profitt

(32-Car Runner-Up — Jason Profitt)

Ean Guenthardt won on a holeshot .037 to .114 over Alyssa Davis in Junior Dragsters. The great start was needed with Guenthardt’s 7.945-second elapsed time at 80.01 mph against a 7.92 dial-in. Davis was spot on her 8.07 dial-in with a 8.073-second pass at 81.60 mph.

Ean Guenthardt

(Junior Dragster Winner — Ean Guenthardt)

Alyssa Davis

(Junior Dragster Runner-Up — Alyssa Davis)

Collier won the $5,000 check for the Safety Track Friday Prelude when final-round opponent John Gregory fouled at the start. Collier had a .018 reaction time and then cruised down the drag strip as Gregory left the tree -.010 too quick.

Steven Collier

(No Box Winner — Steven Collier)

John Gregory

(No Box & Low Roller Runner-Up — John Gregory)

BMD Custom Designs sponsored a pair of Friday night shootouts. Ron Boyce won the Low Roller Shootout, right on his 5.84 dial-in with a 5.844-second run at 117.83 mph. Gregory was runner-up again with a 6.008-second pass at 113.41 mph on a 5.99 dial-in. Gregory was a little better at the start with a .035 to .045 reaction time.

Ron Boyce

(Low Roller Winner — Ron Boyce)

Andrew Innes was the winner of the High Roller Shootout with a great .005 reaction time, along with a 5.968-second run at 110.97 mph. Phil Combs was the runner-up with a .021 start, along with a 6.299-second pass at 104.70 mph.

Andrew Innes

(High Roller Winner — Andrew Innes)

Mike Dumont won the Wired Designs LLC Duck Race with a package of 5.969 seconds and 116.52 mph against a 5.93 dial-in and a .036 start. Zach Combs broke out with a 6.307-second pass at 105.07 mph against a 6.32 dial-in and a .039 reaction time.

Mike Dumont

(Duck Race Winner — Mike Dumont)

Zach Combs

(Duck Race Runner-Up — Zach Combs)

Bowman won Sunday’s Maxx Performance Parts 5K finale with a strong run of 6.689 seconds at 102.93 mph after a .008 start. Runner-up Jeff Fiala was a little too anxious at the tree with a - .006 start triggering the red light.

Nick Bowman

(No Box Winner — Nick Bowman)

Jeff Fiala

(No Box Runner-Up — Jeff Fiala)

Davis captured the Just-N-Time Lawn Care Junior Dragster victory. She posted a 7.91-second pass at 83.30 mph with a .020 reaction time. Runner-up Ralphie Stellato finished in 7.944 seconds at 81.76 mph with a .015 start. Both drivers had a 7.90 dial-in time.

Alyssa Davis

(Junior Dragster Winner — Alyssa Davis)

Ralphie Stellato

(Junior Dragster Runner-Up — Ralphie Stellato)

More great action is scheduled for Dragway 42 this weekend with a Friday test-and-tune, and IHRA Summit SuperSeries points races on Saturday and Sunday.

Last modified on Monday, 01 July 2024

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals D6 - Thunder Valley Dragways
Thunder Valley Dragway
Thursday, August 22nd - Saturday, August 24th
Summit Team Finals D1 - Roxboro Motorsports Park
Roxboro Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 5th - Saturday, September 7th
Summit Team Finals D2 - Holly Springs Motorsports
Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, September 12th - Saturday, September 14th
Summit Team Finals D3 - Quaker City Motorsports Park
Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st
Summit Team Finals D5 - US41 Dragstrip
US41 Dragstrip
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st