IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Roe, Lancaster, Echols, Allen and Willard win Race of Champions Gamblers at IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals

Saturday, 07 October 2023

HOLLY SPRINGS, Ms. — Five drivers emerged victorious in the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals Race of Champions Gamblers at Holly Springs Motorsports Park. With a large number of entries, the race extended from Friday night well into Saturday morning. 

Ricky Roe from Kentucky Dragway captured the Vaughn Oil Top (Box) “Race of Champions” Gambler with a .008 reaction time and going 5.410 seconds at 127.19 mph on a 5.40 dial-in. Heath Davis from Baileyton “Good Time” Drag Strip broke out with a 6.193-second pass at 107.19 mph on a 6.20 dial-in after a .025 start. 

Top winner Ricky Roe

Top runner up Heath Davis

Another Baileyton racer, Seth Lancaster, captured the Rick’s Powder Coating Mod (No Box) “Race of Champions” Gambler as final-round opponent Grant Zimmerman was .-014 too quick at the tree. With the race in hand, Lancaster cruised down the track. Zimmerman, the defending IHRA Summit SuperSeries Mod World Champion, also reached the semifinals of Top eliminations.

Mod winner Seth Lancaster

Mod runner up Grant Zimmerman

Texas native Jordan Echols, now living in the Nashville area, earned the Sportsman title. Echols, representing Music City Raceway, went 7.526 seconds at 90.04 mph against his 7.52 dial-in. Tommy Jackson, a home track racer from Holly Springs, fouled at the start with a  -.014 red light.

Sportsman winner Jordan Echols

Sportsman runner up Tommy Jackson

It was an all-Music City showdown in the Motorcycle final as teammates Jonah Allen and Kane Austin faced off. Allen picked up the hard-earned victory with a 5.962-second pass at 115.86 mph against a 5.96 dial-in with a .027 reaction time. Austin had the terrific .004 start, but barely broke out from his 5.80 dial-in at 5.798 seconds at 123.46 mph.

Motorcycle finalists Kane Austin and Jonah Allen

Will Willard from Elk Creek Dragway, fresh off winning the Division 1 (Patriots) Summit Team Finals last weekend, followed up with a win in Junior Dragster. He finished in 8.548 seconds at 75.50 seconds with a .030 reaction time. Chas Warpenburg, the track champion at Bunker Hill Dragstrip, left too early to trigger the red light and disqualify his run of 8.075 seconds at 80.23 mph.

Jr. Dragster winner Will Willard

Jr. Dragster runner up Chas Warpenburg

Action continues today with the biggest race of the year, the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals presented by Strange Engineering. Click here to catch all the action live on IHRA TV on YouTube. 

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals D6 - Thunder Valley Dragways
Thunder Valley Dragway
Thursday, August 22nd - Saturday, August 24th
Summit Team Finals D1 - Roxboro Motorsports Park
Roxboro Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 5th - Saturday, September 7th
Summit Team Finals D2 - Holly Springs Motorsports
Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, September 12th - Saturday, September 14th
Summit Team Finals D3 - Quaker City Motorsports Park
Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st
Summit Team Finals D5 - US41 Dragstrip
US41 Dragstrip
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st