IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Four Capture IHRA Ironman Victories at Albuquerque Dragway

Friday, 18 August 2023

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Four racers — Rick Marcy, Max Tafoya, Mike Parish and Juan Moreno Jr. — took home prestigious trophies from the IHRA Ironman Classic held last Saturday at Albuquerque Dragway.

Marcy won on a holeshot in Top (Box) with a .008 reaction time to go along with a 4.858-second run on a 4.85 dial-in. The combination of the .00 light and the spot-on run proved too much to overcome for Billy McDaniel, who posted a 6.758-second pass and a .071 reaction time.

081223 SP

Tafoya was the best in the Mod (No Box) final. His winning package included a 6.568-second elapsed time on a 6.55 dial-in with a .010 start. Guy Hatter took runner-up honors with a 6.413-second-pass on a 6.42 dial-in, coupled with a .022 light.

081223 Pro

Parish doubled up with wins in both the Sportsman and Motorcycle classes. He raced to the Sportsman victory as final-round opponent Ronnie Montoya suffered a break out loss against a 7.50 dial-in. Montoya had the better light .036 to .089, but the consistency of Parish proved the different with a 7.381-second run on a 7.35 dial-in.

Parish’s cool demeanor also paid dividends in the Motorcycle class where another opponent, Chris Stringer, broke out in the final round. Parish finished in 7.34 seconds after a .076 reaction time. Stringer went 6.821-seconds against his 6.86 dial-in.

081223 MC and SM

Moreno had the better start in Junior Dragster .078 to .133 for Leroy Vasquez. That proved to be enough after his run of 8.154 seconds against an 8.09 dial-in. Vasquez posted a 7.941-second effort on a 7.92 dial-in.

081223 JR

With the successful IHRA Ironman Classic behind them, the staff at Albuquerque Dragway now turns to other great events throughout the track’s 60th anniversary season. Click here to visit the Albuquerque Dragway Facebook page.