IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Carolina Dragway narrowly escapes with Division 2 East Team Finals win; six more advance in Summit SuperSeries

Monday, 22 September 2014

The Division 2 East IHRA Summit Team Finals presented by AMSOIL took place this past weekend at Carolina Dragway with the host team narrowly escaping with the team win and six more drivers earning a spot in the Summit SuperSeries championship runoff later this year at Memphis International Raceway.

Carolina Dragway narrowly escaped with the Division 2 East team championship by two points over fellow South Carolina track Union County Dragway. Carolina amassed 54 points during the weekend, followed by Union County with 52 points and Pageland Dragway with 48 points. Immokalee Regional Raceway finished fourth with 43 points and Bradenton Motorsports Park rounded out the top five with 42 points. The rest of the team in competition in South Carolina were Palm Beach International Raceway, Darlington Dragway, Green Cove Dragway, Orangeburg Dragway, Ware Shoals Dragway, Dorchester Dragway, Lakeland Dragstrip and Cherokee Dragway.

In the Summit SuperSeries presented by AMSOIL runoff, Joseph Bagwell, Sonny Freeland and Johnny Tolisano won their respective classes, joining runner-up drivers Jerry Norton, David Richardson and Jeremy Barbee as all six advance to the championship race October 10-11 during the Summit World Finals weekend.

Joseph Bagwell got the Summit SuperSeries action underway on Friday with a big win over Jerry Norton in the Top ET runoff. Bagwell, representing the host track, cut a near-perfect .001 light and followed that up with a 5.762-second pass on a 5.76 dial-in at 116.07 mph, while his opponent, traveling from Bradenton Motorsports Park, broke out with a 4.89 on a 4.92 at 139.00 mph.

In Mod ET action, Sonny Freeland, from IHRA’s most southern US track Immokalee Regional Raceway, took the win light over David Richardson. Freeland had a .027 light followed by a 5.897-second pass on a 5.83 dial at 106.93 mph. Richardson, from Darlington Dragway, had a 6.407 on a 6.38 at 106.29.

Johnny Tolisano closed out the Summit SuperSeries competition with a win over Pageland Dragway’s Jeremy Barbee, who went red by a narrow -.011 margin. Tolisano, from Immokalee Regional Raceway, still kept in it for a solid 7.934 on a 7.90 at 76.89.

Other big winners over the weekend included Main Event winners Thomas Bell (Carolina Dragway) in Top ET, Buddy Plyler (Pageland Dragway) in Mod ET and Robby Pettinato (Union County Dragway) in Junior Dragster.

Below are the complete results from the Division 2 East Summit Team Finals presented by AMSOIL at Carolina Dragway.

Division 2 East Summit Team Finals Team Standings

1. Carolina Dragway – 54
2. Union County Dragway – 52
3. Pageland Dragway – 48
4. Immokalee Regional Raceway – 43
5. Bradenton Motorsports Park – 42
6. Palm Beach International Raceway – 33
7. Darlington Dragway – 33
8. Green Cove Dragway – 31
9. Orangeburg Dragway – 29
10. Ware Shoals Dragway – 24
11. Dorchester Dragway – 20
12. Lakeland Dragstrip – 13
13. Cherokee Dragway – 11


D2E Top

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET - Joseph Bagwell, Carolina Dragway, (.001) 5.762 on 5.74, 116.07 def. Jerry Norton, Bradenton Motorsports Park, (.026) 4.89 on 4.92, 139.00

D2E Mod

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET - Sonny Freeland, Immokalee Regional Raceway, (.027) 5.897 on 5.83, 106.93 def. David Richardson, Darlington Raceway, (.090) 6.407 on 6.38, 106.29

D2E Junior

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR DRAGSTER - Johnny Tolisano, Immokalee Regional Raceway, (.044) 7.934 on 7.90, 76.89 def. Jeremy Barbee, Pageland Dragway, (-.011) foul


Main Event Top ET – Thomas Bell, Carolina Dragway, (.027) 6.496 on 4.54, 67.05 def. Brad Hollingsworth, Carolina Dragway, (-.005) foul

Main Event Mod ET – Buddy Plyler, Pageland Dragway, (.000) 6.193 on 6.17, 109.93 def. Britton McClintock, Immokalee Regional Raceway, (.046) 7.556 on 7.57, 87.58

Main Event Juniors – Robby Pettinato, Union County Dragway, (.015) 7.933 on 7.930, 79.59 def. Ethan Smith Jr., Darlington Dragway, (.058) 7.903 on 7.900, 81.84


Team Captains Race – Diane Burch, Bradenton Motorsports Park, (.124) 12.511 on 12.520, 47.98 def. Ozzy Moya, Lakeland Dragway, (.185) 10.922 on 11.000, 66.41

Wednesday Gamblers Race Top ET – Junior Bunner, Lakeland Dragway, (.017) 6.685 on 6.680, 102.30 def. Bruce Patterson, Ware Shoals Dragway, (-.036) foul

Wednesday Gamblers Race Mod ET – Chris Plott, Immokalee Regional Raceway, (.024) 6.187 on 6.240, 111.10 def. Eric Webster, Ware Shoals Dragway, (-.022) foul

Wednesday Gamblers Race Junior Dragster – John Tolisano, Immokalee Regional Raceway, (.044) 7.934 on 7.900, 77.90 def. Jerry Barbee, Pageland Dragway, (.071) 7.930 on 7.900, 78.84

Thursday Gamblers Race Top ET – Tim Butler, Bradenton Motorsports Park, (.019) 4.884, 138.87 def. Luc Desautels, Ware Shoals Dragway, (.022) 6.311, 107.88

Thursday Gamblers Race Mod ET – Joe Hutto, Carolina Dragway, (.027) 8.752, 57.23 def. Tony West, Cherokee Dragway, (-.026) foul

Thursday Gamblers Race Junior Dragster – Mickey Chandler, Ware Shoals Dragway, (.006) 8.004, 79.66 def. Harrison Cox, Darlington Dragway, (-.026) foul

Friday Gamblers Race Top ET – Randy Marrisett, Cherokee Dragway, (.006) 5.223 on 5.21, 127.91 def. Mike Ferraro, Immokalee Regional Raceway, (.016) 4.718 on 4.71, 143.76

Friday Gamblers Race Mod ET – David Richardson, Darlington Dragway, (.016) 6.423 on 6.41, 106.54 def. Chad Williams, Pageland Dragway, (.068) 6.122 on 6.10, 110.56

Friday Gamblers Race Junior Dragster – Morgan Carroll, Orangeburg Dragway, (.089) 8.71 on 8.65, 72.96 def. Kyle Philhower, Palm Beach International Raceway, (.182) 7.94 on 7.90, 82.56


Best Appearing Open Bodied Car – Kendra Hall (Cherokee Raceway)

Best Engineered Open Bodied Car – Danielle Burton (Bradenton Motorsports Park)

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car – Claude Hall (Cherokee Raceway)

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car – John Hudson (Immokalee Regional Raceway)

Best Appearing Junior Dragster – Julie Brannen (Bradenton Motorsports Park)

Best Engineered Junior Dragster – Katelyn Felder (Orangeburg Dragway)

Best Team Spirit – Green Cove Dragway

Best Appearing Sponsor Banner – Palm Beach International Raceway

Best Appearing Team – Carolina Dragway

Last modified on Wednesday, 24 September 2014

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals D6 - Thunder Valley Dragways
Thunder Valley Dragway
Thursday, August 22nd - Saturday, August 24th
Summit Team Finals D1 - Roxboro Motorsports Park
Roxboro Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 5th - Saturday, September 7th
Summit Team Finals D2 - Holly Springs Motorsports
Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, September 12th - Saturday, September 14th
Summit Team Finals D3 - Quaker City Motorsports Park
Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st
Summit Team Finals D5 - US41 Dragstrip
US41 Dragstrip
Thursday, September 19th - Saturday, September 21st