IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Pacemakers Outlaw Motorsports Park Racing Into Future with IHRA

Tuesday, 21 November 2023

MOUNT VERNON, Ohio — Pacemakers Outlaw Motorsports Park will be racing into the future with a multi-year renewal of its sanctioning agreement with the International Hot Rod Association.

First opened in 1956, the Ohio drag strip is steeped in drag racing history. They have featured a lot of No Prep racing in recent years, but were able to build its bracket racing program in 2023 with the IHRA Summit SuperSeries.

Track owners Gary Moore Jr. and Angie Wax, along with track manager Drew Elliott, have been working hard on the facility and with their programs to entice more racers to come to Pacemakers Outlaw Motorsports Park. They installed LED lights at the 1/8-mile track along with a new timing system. It’s a process building their programs, but there was a solid foundation laid this past season.

“We’re still building it and it was our first full year with the bracket program,” Wax said. “We won over a few racers who competed in our points program. They’ve said they’re going to continue so that’s a plus.” 


Pacemakers Outlaw Motorsports Park was part of the IHRA Division 3 (North Stars) Summit Team Finals, although Moore and Wax unfortunately didn’t get to attend due to a family illness. Still, their racers did well in the IHRA Summit SuperSeries in 2023 with Sportsman track champion Ralph Bower finishing No. 7 in the national standings.

Other IHRA Summit SuperSeries track champions for 2023 were: Dustin Hennig (Top), Benjamin Adkins (Mod), Bruce Miller (Motorcycle) and Madeline Rodgers (Junior Dragster).

In addition, Pacemakers Outlaw hosted an IHRA Ironman Classic in June. Brian Fleenor, a longtime IHRA member, earned his first Ironman trophy by winning the Top (Box) final. Jamie Vernon, who has raced at the Ohio track for three-plus decades, won the Ironman in the Mod (No Box) class. 

376770845 325482633203186 7953698347337786924 n

Andrew Adkins took home the Ironman trophy for Sportsman, while Miller (Motorcycle) and Trey Dean were other Ironman winners. Pacemakers also hosted popular events for the Gassers and the UMTR (United Manual Transmission Racers) which is dedicated to stick-shift drag racing.

The season ended on a high note with the Halloween Hootenanny, which featured a huge bonfire and great time for the kids in addition to the great racing action. 

“It was a huge learning experience this year,” Wax said. “Drew, knowing all that he does, has been a lot of help to us. We’re looking forward to getting back to racing and to keep moving forward.” 

Click here to check out the track’s Facebook page and keep up the latest news about Pacemakers Outlaw Motorsports Park.

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Penwell Knights Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Penwell Knights Raceway
Saturday, March 16th
Sportsman Spectacular - Knoxville Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Knoxville Dragway
Saturday, March 30th
IHRA Hot Rod Classic - Xtreme Raceway Park
Hot Rod Classic

Xtreme Raceway Park
Thursday, April 11th - Saturday, April 13th
Sportsman Spectacular - Beacon Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Beacon Dragway
Saturday, April 27th
IHRA Hot Rod Classic - Darlington Dragway
Hot Rod Classic

Darlington Dragway
Thursday, May 2nd - Saturday, May 4th