IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Albuquerque Dragway Sees Marcy, Gonzales, Romero, Duran and Tuck Capture IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser Victories

Sunday, 23 June 2024

ALBUQERQUE, NM — Mitch Marcy’s near-perfect run and the wins of two hometown racers highlighted the IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser Engineering at Albuquerque Dragway.

Marcy in the Super Pro (Box) class, James Gonzales in Pro (Box), Reyes Romero in Sportsman, Galen Duran in Motorcycle and Mason Tuck in Junior Dragsters all took home the prestigious IHRA Ironman trophies and big checks for their Saturday victories.

A near-perfect effort by Marcy in his dragster allowed him to pick up the $2,500 check for Super Pro. He had a .0007 start and then finished with a 5.121-second run at 133.10 mph with a 5.12 dial-in. That combination was too much for Mike Labbate to overcome. Labbate had a great effort himself with a 5.223-second pass at 131.85 mph with a 5.22 dial-in and a .016 reaction time.

Super Pro winner

(Super Pro winner — Mitch Marcy)

Super Pro runner up

(Super Pro runner-up — Mike Labbate)

Gonzales, a racer from Albuquerque, captured the Pro final, also with a $2,500 winner’s check. He posted a 6.754-second elapsed time at 96.84 mph with a 6.75 dial-in and .052 reaction time in his blue station wagon. Wayne Mathews was on his 6.64 dial-in with a 6.647-second run, but a little slower at the tree with a .063 start.

Pro winner

(Pro winner — James Gonzales)

Pro runner up

(Pro runner-up — Wayne Mathews)

Romero, also from Albuquerque and in a station wagon, was the Sportsman winner when Damien Blea fouled at the start. Romero completed his run in 8.824 seconds and 81.60 mph against an 8.83 dial-in. He was .067 at the start, after Blea triggered the red-light by -.007 seconds.

Sportsman winner

(Sportsman winner — Reyes Romero)

Sportsman runner up

(Sportsman runner-up — Damien Blea)

Duran won an entertaining Motorcycle final with a winning package that included a 6.736-second pass at 103.47 mph against a 6.72 dial-in. Runner-up Mike Parish had a better start at .064 to .096, but was further off his 7.48 dial-in with a 7.540-second run at 94.44 mph.

Motorcycle winner

(Motorcycle winner — Galen Duran)

Motorcycle runner up

(Motorcycle runner-up — Mike Parish)

Tuck was the Junior Dragster winner, another one benefiting by his final-round opponent red-lighting. Tuck’s final numbers were an 8.139-second pass at 79.20 against an 8.14 dial-in with a .092 reaction time. Kagen Cleveland was just -.006 too quick at the start of the final-round matchup.

Jr. Dragster winner

(Junior Dragster winner — Mason Tuck)

Jr. Dragster runner up

(Junior Dragster runner-up — Kagen Cleveland)

With the first IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser in New Mexico now complete, other SS races are coming up in Indiana, Ohio and Tennessee over the next month. 

Last modified on Sunday, 23 June 2024
Sportsman Spectacular.jpg

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Ethridge Motorsports Park
Ethridge Motorsports Park
Saturday, July 27th