IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Soucek, Lowery, Williams, Gill and Baehr Earn IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser Wins at Dragway 42

Sunday, 26 May 2024

WEST SALEM, OH — Joe Soucek Jr. added to his rich history of big wins at Dragway 42 by winning the Top (Box) class at the IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser Engineering on Saturday night.

Soucek, who doubled up making to the final round in both Top and Mod at the 2019 IHRA Sportsman Spectacular held at the same track, was joined by Jon Lowery (Mod), Mitch Williams (Sportsman), Zac Gill (Motorcycle) and Brayden Baehr (Junior Dragster) as winners of the prestigious races.

Although final-round opponent John Boes had a better reaction time .014 to .024, Soucek made up for it by posting a 5.994-second run at 114.33 mph against a 5.97 dial-in. Boes finished in 4.95 seconds at 117.25 mph against a 4.82 dial-in.

Top winner

Top runner up

Lowery was the winner in the Mod (No Box) as runner-up Mike Willi fouled at the start. Lowery completed a pass of 5.837 seconds at 116.97 mph against a 5.82 dial-in. Willi went down the drag strip in 6.753 seconds at 79.72 mph.

Mod winner

The Sportsman win went to Williams after Bob Deal left the tree too early. Williams, who had a .035 reaction time, finished with a 12.096-second elapsed time at 110.13 mph on a 12.14 dial. Deal crossed the finish line at 107.53 mph on a 13.115-second pass.

Sportsman winner

Sportsman runner up

Gill won on a holeshot with a .009 reaction time to .255 for Don Vath. Gill’s other numbers included a 8.923-second run at 138.33 mph on an 8.84 dial. Vath’s time was 9.711 seconds at 141.24 mph against a 9.65 dial-in.

Motorcycle winner

Motorcycle runner up

There were three Junior Dragster classes with Brayden Baehr winning both the Junior Advanced race and the All-Junior Shootout. Baehr beat Ben Still in the Advance final. He had the better start .089 to .185 and paired it with a 9.096 second run at 66.74 mph on a 9.00 dial. Still finished in 9.122 seconds at 70.84 mph on a 9.05 dial.

Baehr’s winning numbers in the All Junior Shootout were 9.010 seconds at 70.74 mph with a .027 reaction time. Maleah Mosley posted a run of 7.919 seconds at 81.76 mph, along with a .038 start.

Junior winner

Mosley was the winner in the Junior Master race despite a terrific start by final-round opponent Ryan Roberts. Mosley ran 7.929 seconds at 82.22 mph against 7.91 dial-in and a solid .035 reaction time. Roberts left in .003 seconds and made a run of 7.762 seconds at 80.26 mph against a 7.71 dial-in.

Donavan Grudier won in similar fashion as Abigail Baehr had the better reaction time .011 to .081, but was able to overcome the deficit with a 12.012-second pass at 53.65 mph. Both drivers had an 11.90 dial-in. Baehr went down the track in 12.413 seconds at 51.01 mph.

Last modified on Sunday, 26 May 2024
Sportsman Spectacular.jpg

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Ethridge Motorsports Park
Ethridge Motorsports Park
Saturday, July 27th