IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Brown, Daugherty, Simon, Gomez are IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser and FuelTech Winners at Muncie Dragway

Monday, 31 July 2023

ALBANY, Ind. — Greg Brown, Shane Daugherty, Derek Simon and Dexter Gomez captured big wins at the IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented Moser Engineering and FuelTech last Saturday at Muncie Dragway.

Brown and Nick Thompson both posted .00 lights in the Top (Box) final. Brown was closer on his dial-in with a 6.255-second elapsed time against a 6.25, along with his incredible .002 start in his Ford Ranger. Thompson was also fantastic at the start with a .008 reaction time, but broke out with a 6.448-second run on a 6.46 dial-in.

HSP 6145

The Pro final also saw a couple more drivers quick at the start. Daugherty made a winning pass of 6.42 seconds against a 6.39 dial-in after a .006 reaction time. His final-round opponent, Matt Ball, fouled as he was too fast -.002 at the tree. Ball went down the track in 6.769 seconds with a 6.41 dial-in.

HSP 6148

Simon, a talented driver who won the Race of Champions at the 2022 IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals, continued to show why he’s one of the best racers in the country with his Sportsman victory. He finished in 11.593 seconds against an 11.57 dial-in after a .013 start. That allowed him to win on a holeshot over Gary Blankenship, who matched his 10.61 dial-in, after leaving in .082 seconds.

HSP 6143

Gomez was better at the tree to take the Junior Dragster victory. He had a .050 start to go along with a 7.965-second pass. Addison Jones finished runner-up with a 7.921 second-run and a .088 reaction time.

HSP 6140

Jeremy York was on target to win a Quick 8 race. He went 4.493 seconds against a 4.49 dial-in along with a .009 reaction time. Skyler Bee wasn’t far off with a .019 start, but slightly broke out with a 5.012-second run against a 5.02 dial-in.

HSP 6151

Chip Heindel completed the list of Saturday winners with his Quick 8 Door victory. His 1997 Chevy Camaro roared down the track in 4.958 seconds against a 4.95 dial-in with a .051 reaction time. Dave Coapstick got off the line better with a .011 start, but went 5.282 seconds against a 5.23 dial-in to break out.

The final IHRA Sportsman Spectacular presented by Moser Engineering and FuelTech of the 2023 season is set for August 19 at Central Illinois Dragway. Click here to check out the track’s website.

Sportsman Spectacular.jpg

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



Sunoco Race Fuels Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Penwell Knights Raceway
Penwell Knights Raceway
Saturday, March 16th
Sportsman Spectacular - Knoxville Dragway
Knoxville Dragway
Saturday, March 30th
Sportsman Spectacular - Beacon Dragway
Beacon Dragway
Saturday, April 27th
Sportsman Spectacular - Dragway 42
Dragway 42
Saturday, May 25th
Sportsman Spectacular - Albuquerque Dragway
Albuquerque Dragway
Saturday, June 22nd