IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Jackson Scores Three Wins in Gamblers Races at IHRA Division 6 Summit Team Finals

Wednesday, 30 August 2023

ONAWA, Iowa — Kabren Jackson didn’t double up in Gamblers races at the IHRA Division 6 (Midwest) Summit Team Finals. Instead, he did one better.

The young racer swept Junior Dragster races on Thursday and Friday. He capped off the stellar performance by driving a red Chevy Nova to the win in Friday’s Mod (No Box) race.

Jackson started off the memorable weekend with his win over Taylor Hansen in Thursday’s Junior Dragster final. Jackson put together a winning package of 7.927 seconds at 73.79 mph against a 7.82 dial-in, along with a .033 reaction time. Hansen went 7.665 seconds at 83.32 to break out from a 7.68 dial-in. It was still a great weekend for Hansen, who went on to win Saturday’s main event and qualify for the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals.

Kabren Jackson1

Taylor Hansen1

Tony Henderson won on a holeshot in the Top (Box) final with a .022 to .064 advantage over Brent Erickson at the tree. Henderson’s dragster roared down the track in 5.024 seconds at 127.37 mph against a 5.00 dial-in. Erickson posted a 7.493-second run at 89.04 mph against a 7.48 dial-in.

Tony Henderson1

Brent Erickson1

Tyler Heitman was also better at the start in the Mod (No Box) final. He left in .033 seconds to .062 for Brad Nickerson. Heitman then had a 5.532-second elapsed time at 120.45 mph in his red Nova against a 5.51 dial-in. Nickerson went down the drag strip in 6.416 seconds at 104.87 mph.

Tyler Heitman1

Brad Nickerson1

Jackson added a second Junior Dragster win on Friday after he and final-round opponent Ross Richards both triggered the red-lights. The official winning package for Jackson included a 8.378-second run at 59.76 mph. Richards came through with an 8.103-second pass at 80.53 mph.



The Mod (No Box) final pitted Jackson against Chris Bonsall. Jackson emerged victorious when Bonsall fouled at the start. Jackson then posted a 6.817-second run at 92.82 mph against a 6.68 dial-in. Bonsall’s final numbers included a 6.108-second pass at 109.76 mph against a 6.11 dial-in.



Isaac Wilde raced his highly modified Chevy S-10 pickup to the Top (Box) victory as Shawn Stougard left by a mere -.003 seconds too early. Wilde, who had a .014 reaction time, raced down track in 6.519 seconds at 107.91 mph. Stougard finished his run in 5.984 seconds at 114.39 mph.

Isaac Wilde1


The IHRA Summit Team Finals continue Sept. 7-9 with Division 3 (North Stars) at Dragway 42 and Division 5 (Thunder) at US 41 Dragstrip.

Last modified on Wednesday, 30 August 2023

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Penwell Knights Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Penwell Knights Raceway
Saturday, March 16th
Sportsman Spectacular - Knoxville Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Knoxville Dragway
Saturday, March 30th
IHRA Hot Rod Classic - Xtreme Raceway Park
Hot Rod Classic

Xtreme Raceway Park
Thursday, April 11th - Saturday, April 13th
Sportsman Spectacular - Beacon Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Beacon Dragway
Saturday, April 27th
IHRA Hot Rod Classic - Darlington Dragway
Hot Rod Classic

Darlington Dragway
Thursday, May 2nd - Saturday, May 4th