IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Maryland International Raceway takes D1 Summit Team Finals; six drivers advance in Summit SuperSeries

Friday, 04 October 2013
Division 1 Summit SuperSeries Top ET winner Dale Smith Division 1 Summit SuperSeries Top ET winner Dale Smith

It was a busy opening day at the Division 1 Summit Team Finals on Friday as six more drivers advanced to the Summit Racing Equipment World Finals at Memphis International Raceway this weekend.

Defending Summit SuperSeries Junior Dragster World Champion Austin Johnson will get a shot at repeating as champion as he won the Junior Dragster runoff at the D1 Team Finals at Piedmont Dragway, joining Dale Smith (Top ET) and Kevin Pollard (Mod ET) as Friday’s other Summit SuperSeries runoff winners. Runner-up finishers, who also earned a ticket to Memphis, were Alan Glatt (Top ET), Bobby Mattera (Mod ET) and Rachael Whitney (Junior Dragster).

Maryland International Raceway took the Summit Team Finals team win over Motor Mile Dragway, racking up 56 points to Motor Mile’s 45 points. Sumerduck Dragway was third with 33 points, followed by Richmond Dragway with 27 points and New London Dragstrip with 26 points. Rounding out the field was Capital Raceway (25), Northeast Dragway (22), Roxboro Motorsports Dragway (17), Cherokee Dragway (13), Natural Bridge Dragstrip (12) and 75-80 Dragway (0).

D1 Junior Winner

   Division 1 Summit SuperSeries Junior Dragster winner Austin Johnson

Johnson, representing Motor Mile Dragway in his brand new Summit Racing Equipment sponsored Junior Dragster, went a handful of rounds ending with a double red-light win over Rachael Whitney of Richmond Dragway. Both drivers had identical 7.90 dials and both jumped the gun, with Johnson getting the better of the two with a -.007 red light to Whitney’s -.029.

In Top ET Dale Smith put together a near-perfect run in the finals to take the win home for Maryland International Raceway, posting a .001 reaction time with a 4.812 elapsed time on a 4.80 dial at 144.11 miles per hour. Runner-up Alan Glatt, from Capital Raceway, had a .005 reaction time with a 4.621 on a 4.61 dial.

D1 Mod Winner

   Division 1 Summit SuperSeries Mod ET winner Kevin Pollard

In Mod ET Kevin Pollard gave Motor Mile Dragway its second SuperSeries runoff win when he took down Bobby Mattera of Maryland International Raceway. Mattera lit the red bulb by -.010, negating a great run by Pollard with a .008 light and a 5.287 on a 5.28.

Other big winners during the Division 1 Summit Team Finals were Main Event winners John Roach of New London Dragstrip in Top ET, Chris Moren of Richmond Dragway in Mod ET and Haylea Whited of Motor Mile Dragway in Junior Dragster.

The following are the final results from the Division 1 IHRA Summit Team Finals at Piedmont Dragway.

Division 1 Summit Team Finals Team Standings

1. Maryland International Raceway – 56
2. Motor Mile Dragway – 45
3. Sumerduck Dragway – 33
4. Richmond Dragway – 27
5. New London Dragstrip – 26
6. Capital Raceway – 25
7. Northeast Dragway – 22
8. Roxboro Motorsports Dragway – 17
9. Cherokee Dragway – 13
10. Natural Bridge Dragstrip – 12
11. 75-80 Dragway – 0


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET – Dale Smith (Maryland) .001 RT, 4.812, 144.11 def. Alan Glatt (Capital) .005 RT, 4.621, 151.26

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET – Kevin Pollard (Motor Mile) .008 RT, 5.287, 130.15 def. Bobby Mattera (Maryland) -.010 RT FOUL

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR – Austin Johnson (Motor Mile) -.007 RT FOUL def. Rachael Whitney (Richmond) -.029 RT FOUL


Main Event Top ET – John Roach (New London) .024 RT, 6.369, 107.64 def. Steve Witherow (Sumerduck) .050 RT, 4.594, 150.72

Main Event Mod ET – Chris Moren (Richmond) .002 RT, 6.416, 106.93 def. George English (Natural Bridge) .027 RT, 6.170, 111.51

Main Event Juniors – Haylea Whited (Motor Mile) .052 RT, 7.896, 82.77 def. Rachael Whitney (Richmond) .038 RT, 7.895, 82.37

Team Captains Race – Royce Miller (Maryland) .070 RT, 10.660, 74.08 def. Steve Grosclose (Motor Mile) .147 RT, 11.536, 59.02

Friday Gamblers Top – Ray Weinstein (Richmond) .016 RT, 4.887, 104.64 def. Rob Hetzler (Roxboro) .042 RT, 6.319, 108.13

Friday Gamblers Mod – Kevin Pollard (Motor Mile) .013 RT, 5.304, 127.96 def. Jessie Betterton (Motor Mile) .044 RT, 7.091, 96.23

Friday Gamblers Junior – Allie Wiesner (Northeast) .016 RT, 7.924, 82.26 def. Austin Johnson (Motor Mile) .028 RT, 7.929, 82.47

Saturday Gamblers Top – Bruce Hensley (Maryland) .012 RT, 5.798, 80.22 def. Todd Welzel (Sumerduck) -.006 RT FOUL

Saturday Gamblers Mod – Jessie Betterton (Motor Mile) .020 RT, 7.087, 96.64 def. Kevin Pollard (Motor Mile) .023 RT, 5.293, 129.23

Saturday Gamblers Junior – Adriana Esteves (Maryland) .018 RT, 7.922, 82.69 def. Roger Thornton (Richmond) .043 RT, 7.894, 80.85


Best Appearing Open Bodied Car – Dale Smith (Maryland International Raceway)

Best Engineered Open Bodied Car – Steve Witherow (Sumerduck Dragway)

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car – Ron Barlow (Motor Mile Dragway)

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car – Gail Lumpkins (Cherokee Dragway)

Best Appearing Junior – Allison Lloyd (Richmond Dragway)

Best Engineered Junior – Jacob Baker (Richmond Dragway)

Best Team Spirit – Northeast Dragway

Best Appearing Sponsor Banner – Sumerduck Dragway

Best Appearing Team – Motor Mile Dragway

Last modified on Monday, 07 October 2013

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: State Capital Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

State Capital Raceway
Saturday, March 25th
Sportsman Spectacular: Piedmont Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Piedmont Dragway
Saturday, March 25th
Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th