IHRA ihra-sportsman-2020-btn ihra-sss-btn ihra-team-finals-btn2 drag-review
navbar bottom
  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 6350

Racers from South Dakota, Hawaii, Aruba selected for Summit SuperSeries ‘Wild Card’

Thursday, 02 October 2014

Three lucky drivers were recently selected as the wild card participants in the 2014 IHRA Summit Racing Equipment SuperSeries to be contested at the Summit World Finals at Memphis International Raceway later this month.

Drivers from the islands of Aruba and Hawaii, plus South Dakota, were selected to participate in the 2014 Summit SuperSeries in the Top, Mod and Junior Dragster categories with an opportunity to compete for a World Championship the weekend of October 10-11 at the Summit World Finals.

Those winners are Scott Henderson (Vermillion, South Dakota) representing Thunder Valley Dragway in Top ET, Ian Bernard (Pahoa, Hawaii) representing Hilo Dragstrip in Mod ET and Leendrick Lacle (Oranjestad, Aruba) representing International Raceway Aruba in Junior Dragster.

The three racers will join 45 other Summit SuperSeries competitors in the battle for the 2014 Summit SuperSeries World Championship in Memphis. 16 drivers make up each of the three classes. Already, drivers from 17 states make up the Summit SuperSeries championship with two 12 more spots available.

Due to the range and distance of tracks competing in the Summit SuperSeries, the wild card program is an opportunity for tracks not competing in a regional Summit Team Finals event to have an opportunity to compete for a championship. The three wild card participants will join 15 other drivers per class who will qualify at regional Summit Team Finals events leading up to the World Finals.

Since the inception of the Summit SuperSeries program in 2002, several wild card participants have been lucky enough to win it all. Jonathan Tromp, from Aruba, won the Top championship in 2004, while 2010 and 2011 Mod champions Chris Hall and Matt Hawk won representing Salt Lake City and Tucson respectively.

Summit Racing Equipment, the Official High Performance Source of IHRA, is the sponsor of the revolutionary series for IHRA ET bracket racers. Providing the base for the Summit SuperSeries are the more than 100 member tracks from which thousands of drivers compete.

Each Summit SuperSeries track champion will travel to their local Summit Team Finals event in their respective division to runoff for the right to qualify for the Summit World Finals.

All qualified drivers will receive $1,000 tow money from Summit Racing Equipment. Payout in Top ET and Mod ET will be $10,000 to the winner, $7,000 to the runner-up, $2,000 for a trip to the semi-finals and $1,000 for the quarter-final round. The Junior Dragster champion will take home $3,000.

All three drivers will also take home an illustrious prize package. In addition, the three champions will also be recognized at the IHRA awards celebration on the grounds at MIR on Friday, October 10.

The Summit SuperSeries championship will take place during the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment World Finals October 10-11 at Memphis International Raceway.

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px


Abenity Sidebar Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals Midwest - Eddyville Raceway Park
Eddyville Raceway
Thursday, September 8th - Sunday, September 11th
Summit Team Finals Division 3 - Dragway 42
Dragway 42
Thursday, September 15th - Sunday, September 18th
Summit Team Finals Division 5 - US 131 Motorsports Park
US 131 Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 22nd - Sunday, September 25th
Summit Team Finals Division 4 - Xtreme Raceway
Xtreme Raceway Park
Friday, September 23rd - Sunday, September 25th
Summit Team Finals Division 2 - Holly Springs Motorsports
Holly Springs Motorsports Park
Thursday, September 29th - Sunday, October 2nd