NitroJamLogo web2
navbar bottom


  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 6350

Rupert opens up a commanding lead in Nitro Funny Car championship, Goforth, Andras and Maroney remain atop standings

Wednesday, 16 April 2014

California native and driver of the Bays and Rupert “Black Plague” Camaro Jason Rupert remained atop the championship standings in Nitro Funny Car over the weekend after a third straight final with the IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series.

Rupert has amassed 328 points through three races this season, joining Cary Goforth (Pro Stock), Randal Andras (Nitro Harley), Ron Maroney (Nitro Altered) and Elaine Larsen (Jet Dragster) as point leaders in their respective classes.

Rupert reached the final for the third time this season, this time falling in the championship round to rookie Mike McIntire Jr. due to a wounded car. Rupert has two wins, has been top qualifier in all three races and is 8-1 in round-by-round competition this season, giving him a comfortable 111-point advantage over Mark Sanders and McIntire who are tied for second. Tim Boychuk is fourth, followed by John Hale in fifth.

Goforth Points

   Cary Goforth

McIntire, drive of the bright orange “McAttack” ’69 Camaro, picked up his first career win over the weekend to move into a tie for second with Sanders.

Cary Goforth, from Holdenville, Okla., remained atop the Mountain Motor Pro Stock standings following his second win of the 2014 season and third final in a row at the IHRA Nitro Jam Southern Nationals at Bradenton Motorsports Park. Goforth bested John DeFlorian in the Pro Stock final after losing to the Missouri native just one race prior.

Goforth holds a 27-point lead over DeFlorian, with Goforth’s Dean’s Casing Service teammate Todd Hoerner in third.

In Nitro Harley, Louisiana native Randal Andras holds a narrow three-point lead over Jay Turner in a tightly contested field. Andras has one win this season, while Turner is still seeking his first victory of the season. Steve Dorn, who was injured in a racing incident in Bradenton, sits third. Through three races, three different winners have visited the winner's circle in the nitro-powered motorcycle class.

Ron Maroney in the “Blind Faith” entry tops IHRA’s third nitro class with a three-point lead over Ron Hope in Nitro Altered, while Mike Hilsabeck sits third. Elaine Larsen leads IHRA’s Jet Dragster class by 23 points over Dawn Perdue.

Next up for the IHRA Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series is a pair of May races at Palm Beach International Raceway (May 2-3) and Rockingham Dragway (May 17-18).

Andras Points

   Randal Andras

Nitro Jam Championship Standings (Top 10)
(After 3 of 12 events on 2014 Nitro Jam Drag Racing Series)

Nitro Funny Car – 1. Jason Rupert 328, 2. Mark Sanders 217, 3. Mike McIntire Jr. 217, 4. Tim Boychuk 198, 5. John Hale 159, 6. Bruce Litton 143, 7. Ronnie Young 119, 8. John Smith 94, 9. Greg Jacobsmeyer 72, 10. Mike Halstead 65

Pro Stock – 1. Cary Goforth 327, 2. John DeFlorian 300, 3. Todd Hoerner 224, 4. Kevin Bealko 159, 5. Scott Hintz 126, 6. Pete Berner 123, 7. John Konigshofer 123, 8. Brad Waddle 50

Nitro Harley – 1. Randal Andras 239, 2. Jay Turner 236, 3. Steve Dorn 200, 4. Mike Pelrine, 173, 5. Mike Scott 172, 6. Ron Gledhill 122, 7. Mark Cox 114, 8. Alvin Kobernusz 102, 9. Joey Sternotti 96, 10. Tracy Kile 55

Nitro Altered – 1. Ron Maroney 244, 2. Ron Hope 241, 3. Mike Hilsabeck 221, 4. Jim Maroney 151, 5. Don Blackshear 114, 6. Derek Snelson 92, 7. Brian Hope 92, 8. Shane Harter 71, 9. Kyle Hough 40, 10. Terry Haddock 24

Jet Dragster – 1. Elaine Larsen 307, 2. Dawn Perdue 284, 3. Marisha Falk 215, 4. Kat Moller 146


Last modified on Wednesday, 16 April 2014
No events
IHRA socialMedia facebook IHRA socialMedia twitter IHRA socialMedia youtube
 ihra googleplus   ihra rssfeed