NitroJamLogo web2
navbar bottom


Di Lecce riding four-race PMRA winning streak entering Grand Bend

Wednesday, 17 July 2013

Winning streaks are a bit of a rarity in the Pro Modified Racing Association.

Only two drivers in the eight-year history of the doorslammer series have managed to string together more than one race win in a row and no one has accomplished that feat since 2010. But in 2013, PMRA veteran Rocky Di Lecce is rewriting the record books, having won all four races on the schedule so far in 2013. And this weekend the Mississauga, Ontario native is eying a series-record fifth consecutive win at the International Hot Rod Association’s premier Mopar Nitro Jam Nationals presented by Parts Canada at the Grand Bend Motorplex in western Ontario.

The PMRA series will run in conjunction with the IHRA’s regular Nitro Jam lineup that includes racing in Top Fuel Dragster, AMSOIL Prostalgia Nitro Funny Car, Fuel Altered, Nitro Harley and, for the first time since 2009, Mountain Motor Pro Stock. The event will also feature Grand Bend’s famous Jet Jam, as three different jet-powered classes plus the famous Wall of Fire pyrotechnics light up the night sky.


   Di Lecce (near) vs. Eric Latino at the 2012 Mopar Nitro Jam Nationals final

It all takes place July 19-21 at the Grand Bend Motorplex.

Di Lecce’s most recent win came just one week ago at the Canadian Nitro Nationals in Toronto where Di Lecce drove his 526-cubic inch Brad Anderson powered 1968 Chevrolet Camaro to a win over Derek Hawker. The win was his fourth of the season on the nine-race PMRA schedule. Only series veterans Bruce Boland, with four-straight wins in 2009, and Mike Stawicki, with three victories in a row in 2008, have managed to put together winning streaks in the Canadian-based Pro Modified racing series since its inception in 2005. Di Lecce has also topped the PMRA qualifying charts three races in a row.

“Last year we had just gotten the car and we simply didn’t have much seat time in it,” Di Lecce said. “I had had a lot of success with Outlaw 10.5, but we had never driven Pro Mod before. Once we got some seat time and I got more and more familiar with the car things just sort of clicked for us. Since then it has been one heck of a ride and we have been having a lot of fun out there.”


   Jeff Roth battling Bruce Boland at the 2012 Mopar Nitro Jam Nationals

Di Lecce currently leads the PMRA standings by 135 points over Jack Grainy. Derek Hawker is third, followed by four-time PMRA champion Bruce Boland and IHRA veteran Rob Atchison is currently in fifth place.

At the 2012 IHRA Mopar Nitro Jam Nationals, Di Leece was runner-up to Eric Latino – his first and only career final round appearance prior to this season. In that race Di Leece lit the red bulb by -.056 seconds, handing Latino the win. No PMRA driver has ever repeated at the IHRA sanctioned event, with Latino, Jack Grainy, Mike Stawicki and Bruce Boland collecting wins over the past four years.

PMRA competitors will have qualifying runs Friday and Saturday followed by round one of eliminations Saturday night and the remainder of eliminations on Sunday. Fans will also see all four nitro classes, Pro Stock, Jet Jam and more all three days at the 2013 IHRA Mopar Nitro Jam Nationals presented by Parts Canada at the Grand Bend Motorplex.

CLICK HERE for schedules, ticket information and more on the Mopar Nitro Jam Nationals presented by Parts Canada at the Grand Bend Motorplex

Last modified on Thursday, 17 April 2014
No events
IHRA socialMedia facebook IHRA socialMedia twitter IHRA socialMedia youtube
 ihra googleplus   ihra rssfeed