IHRA ihra-sportsman-2020-btn ihra-sss-btn ihra-team-finals-btn2 drag-review
navbar bottom

Brainerd Motorsports Park Honored as IHRA Division 2 Track of the Year

Wednesday, 17 November 2021

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. — Brainerd Motorsports Park has been named the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 2 (Heatwave) Track of the Year.

Blessed with a convenient location right off Interstate 75, the 1/8-mile drag strip in Ringgold, Georgia has become a destination for racers throughout the Southeast. It is only 10 miles from Chattanooga, Tenn., less than an hour to Alabama and less than two hours from Atlanta.

The first Brainerd Optimist track was opened in Hixson, Tenn., in 1957, but after complaints from residents, it was moved to the current location in 1964. Nearly 60 years later, it’s gained a reputation as a terrific place to race with a great surface to compete on.

Division 2 logo

Track owners Amy and Steve Farrow have placed an emphasis on making the track racer-friendly. They have a full schedule of events from March through November 2022 already listed on the website.  

It ranges from IHRA Summit SuperSeries points races, Outlaw Pro Mods, Nostalgia Drags and Motorcycle events. They’ve been leaders in both index racing, highlighted by the 4.40 Bad Boyz Series, and regular bracket racing. In addition, they have a special charity race each fall.

Brainerd Motorsports Park

“Brainerd Motorsports Park continues to deliver great racing on a consistent basis,” IHRA Division Director Frank Kohutek said. “Amy and Steve Farrow do a tremendous job prepping the track and giving the racers from their area and beyond an excellent place to race. They have been provided a wide variety of great events and have been terrific representatives of IHRA drag racing.”

Brainerd Motorsports Park was well represented at the IHRA Division 2 (Heatwave) Summit Team Finals, where their contingent finished second to Holly Springs Motorsports in the overall competition.

180578936 4598596976835055 3526691690661369468 n

Marty Goldsmith (Sportsman) and Maddie Calhoun (Junior Dragster) won their respective classes. In addition, Steven Farrow won the award for Best Engineered Open Bodied Car. Other Brainerd representatives at the 2021 IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals included: Kevin Pass (Top), Jason Young (Mod) and Ashley McCarver (Junior).

Click here to visit the Brainerd Motorsports Park website.

Last modified on Thursday, 18 November 2021

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px


Abenity Sidebar Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Centerville Dragway (Single Event)
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Centerville Dragway
Sunday, June 5th
Sportsman Spectacular - Union Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Union County Dragway
Friday, June 10th - Sunday, June 12th
Onawa Dragway - Sportsman Spectacular Event
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Onawa Dragway
Saturday, July 9th - Sunday, July 10th
Sportsman Spectacular - Empire Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Empire Dragway
Friday, July 29th - Sunday, July 31st
Sportsman Spectacular - Maryland International Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Maryland International Raceway
Friday, August 19th - Sunday, August 21st