IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Amarillo Dragway takes team win at D7 Team Finals; Thorp, Cannon, Low advance to Summit SuperSeries championship

Friday, 13 September 2013
Desert Thunder Junior Dragster racer Lizzie Low dominated at the D7 Summit Team Finals, including taking the win in the SuperSeries runoff Desert Thunder Junior Dragster racer Lizzie Low dominated at the D7 Summit Team Finals, including taking the win in the SuperSeries runoff

Three more drivers punched their tickets to the Summit SuperSeries championship runoff at the Summit World Finals over the weekend, as Kevin Thorp, Larry Cannon and Lizzie Low will represent their home tracks at Memphis International Raceway in October.

Thorp won the Top ET runoff at the Division 7 Summit Team Finals at Caprock Motorplex on Friday, while Larry Cannon claimed the Mod ET win and Lizzie Low won in Junior Dragster. Low had a huge weekend in Junior Dragster, winning the Main Event later that weekend while also reaching a third final in three days of racing.

Amarillo Dragway Team 1 won the Summit Team Finals team competition by a considerably margin – 15 points over Caprock Motorplex Team 2. Caprock Motorplex Team 1 finished third, followed by Desert Thunder and Southwestern International Raceway. Rounding out the top 10 were Hobbs Motorsports Park, Amarillo Dragway Team 2, Roswell Dragway and El Paso Dragway.

Caprock Top Win

   Summit SuperSeries Top winner Kevin Thorp

Kevin Thorp, representing host track Caprock Motorplex, won the Top ET runoff at the Division 7 Summit Team Finals at Caprock Motorplex on Friday, defeating Brad Hawk from Southwestern International Raceway. Thorp won with a solid .020 reaction time while posting a 4.856 elapsed time at 142.41 miles per hour on a 4.85 dial. Hawk had a .026 light and ran a 6.934 at 96.36 mph on a 6.93 dial.

In Mod ET Larry Cannon took the win representing Southwestern International Raceway, topping Benny Gossett of Caprock Motorplex in the process. Gossett lit the red light in the final by -.007 to hand Cannon the win.

Finally in Junior Dragster Lizzie Low got the win for Desert Thunder Raceway, defeating Tyler Thorp in the final. Thorp was representing Caprock Motorplex. Thorp had the better reaction time - a .029 to a .072 - but the young racer broke out on the top end with an 8.012 on a 8.02 dial. Low ran a 7.920 on a 7.90 dial.

Caprock Mod Win

   Summit SuperSeries Mod winner Larry Cannon

The three winners automatically advance to the Summit SuperSeries championship runoff October 11-12 at Memphis International Raceway.

Other big winners from the Division 7 Summit Team Finals were Top Main Event winner Nicole Wright form Caprock Motorplex, Mod Main Event winner Tim O’Moore from Southwestern International Raceway and Junior Main Event winner Lizzie Low from Desert Thunder.

The following are the final results from the Division 7 IHRA Summit Team Finals event at Caprock Motorplex.

Division 7 Summit Team Finals Team Standings

1. Amarillo Dragway Team 1 – 44
2. Caprock Motorplex Team 2 – 29
3. Caprock Motorplex Team 1 – 28
4. Desert Thunder – 25
5. Southwestern International Raceway – 24
6. Hobbs Motorsports Park – 20
7. Amarillo Dragway Team 2 – 11
8. Roswell Dragway – 0
8. El Paso Dragway – 0


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET – Kevin Thorp (Caprock) .020 RT, 4.856, 142.41 def. Brad Hawk (SIR) .026 RT, 6.934, 96.36

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET – Larry Cannon (SIR) .025 RT, 6.616, 94.94 def. Benny Gossett (Caprock) -.007 RT FOUL

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR – Lizzie Low (Desert Thunder) .072 RT, 7.920, 80.07 def. Tyler Thorp (Caprock) .029 RT, 8.012, 77.99


Main Event Top ET – Nicole Wright (Caprock) .016 RT, 4.970, 135.95 def. Mike Badeaux (Amarillo) .016 RT, 7.152, 100.67

Main Event Mod ET – Tim O’Moore (SIR) .018 RT, 6.343, 100.45 def. Landon Cartrite (Amarillo) .050 RT, 7.681, 88.24

Main Event Juniors – Lizzie Low (Desert Thunder) .062 RT, 7.966, 77.99 def. Ryan Terreault (SIR) .107 RT, 10.079, 61.48

Team Captains Race – John Mabry (SIR) .062 RT, 10.448, 69.98 def. Kamron Wright (Caprock) .141 RT, 9.112, 70.64

Friday Gamblers Top – Landyn Thompson (Caprock) .009 RT, 5.013, 136.78 def. Johnny Calvert (Caprock) .046 RT, 5.032, 137.20

Friday Gamblers Mod – Zay Becknal (Hobbs) .069 RT, 5.704, 119.68 def. Austin James (Caprock) -.012 RT FOUL

Friday Gamblers Junior – Leslie Grissom Jr. (Caprock) .028, 8.882, 44.51 def. Lizzie Low (Desert Thunder) -.003 RT FOUL

Saturday Gamblers Top – Jeremy Smith (Caprock) .013 RT, 4.812, 139.32 def. Chuck Hawk (SIR) .024 RT, 5.042, 134.33

Saturday Gamblers Mod – Ryan Milam (Amarillo) .041 RT, 6.604, 102.74 def. Benny Gossett (Caprock) .016 RT, 5.813, 111.11

Saturday Gamblers Junior – Gabriel Brown (SIR) .023 RT, 7.965, 81.23 def. Kaitlyn Murray (Caprock) -.027 RT FOUL

Sunday Gamblers Top – Jimmy Farmer (Desert Thunder) .019 RT, 6.502, 105.39 def. Kevin Bracey (Caprock) .030 RT, 4.870, 125.35

Sunday Gamblers Mod – Wes Snodgrass (Hobbs) .041 RT, 5.795, 102.27 def. Austin James (Caprock) .136 RT, 7.437, 91.84

Sunday Gamblers Junior – Leslie Grissom Jr. (Caprock) .109 RT, 10.095, 42.90 def. Tyler Thorp (Caprock) .081 RT


Best Appearing Open Bodied Car – Kevin Thorp (Caprock Motorplex)

Best Engineered Open Bodied Car – Jerry Ross (Caprock Motorplex)

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car – Justin Bromley (Hobbs Motorsports Park)

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car – Mike Lamberson (Amarillo Dragway)

Best Appearing Junior – Jace Head (Hobbs Motorsports Park)

Best Engineered Junior – Lizzie Low (Desert Thunder)

Best Team Spirit – Amarillo Dragway

Best Appearing Sponsor Banner – Desert Thunder

Best Appearing Team – Hobbs Motorsports Park

Track Operators Race – Southwestern International Raceway

Last modified on Monday, 16 September 2013

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: State Capital Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

State Capital Raceway
Saturday, March 25th
Sportsman Spectacular: Piedmont Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Piedmont Dragway
Saturday, March 25th
Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th