IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Holly Springs Motorsports Edges Beacon Dragway to Win IHRA Division 2 Summit Team Finals

Sunday, 02 October 2022

HOLLY SPRINGS, Ms. — Homestanding Holly Springs Motorsports captured the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 2 (Heatwave) Summit Team Finals by just a single point over Beacon Dragway.

It was an extremely close finals with Holly Springs taking a 53-52 win over Beacon. London Dragway and Gulfport Dragway tied for third with 48 points, while Music City Raceway wasn’t far behind with 42 points.

Teams from: Centerville Dragway, Brainerd Motorsports Park, Memphis International Raceway, Gleason Raceway Park and Ozark Raceway Park also participated.

BSC 0092

The main event was the highlight of a fun-filled weekend which included Gamblers’ races, special awards and a track operators’ race. In addition to the team competition, racers faced off in Box, No Box, Sportsman and Junior Dragster to earn a spot in the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals, October 12-15, also at Holly Springs.

Allen Gately from Henderson, Tenn., defeated fellow Volunteer State driver Mike Harville in a closely contested Box final. Gately rocketed down the track in 4.645 seconds at 147.25 mph against a 4.63 dial-in. Harville, from Atoka, Tenn., finished in 4.621 seconds at 146.68 mph with a 4.60 dial-in. Harville was a slightly quicker at the start with a .017 to .018 advantage on reaction times.

BSC 0084

Charlie Lockhart rolled to the No Box victory win. The Mayfield, Ky., driver posted a 5.887-second elapsed time at 109.20 mph against a 5.87 dial-in, along with a .043 start. James Shotts from Hamliton, Ala., was also a little better at the tree with a .041 reaction time, but came up short with a 9.778-second pass at 68.45 mph.

BSC 0070

The Sportsman final was settled on a holeshot as Jordan Johnson from Greenbriar, Tenn., left at .019 to defeat Rachael Haynes from North Little Rock, Ark., who had a .257 start. Johnson’s package included a pass of 9.732 seconds and 68.94 mph on a 9.55 dial-in. Haynes had a run of 8.762 seconds and 81.67 mph with an 8.28 dial-in.

BSC 0060

Mississippi’s own Rylee Wells took the Junior Dragster title with a 7.922-second run at 79.29 mph against a 7.91 dial-in. John Varner from Temple, Ga., broke out with his run of 9.006 seconds a little faster than his 9.02 dial-in. Wells, from Brandon, Ms., also had a slight advantage .016 to .017 at the tree.

BSC 0051


Team standings

1. Holly Springs Motorsports           53

2. Beacon Dragway                         52

3. Gulfport Dragway                        48

4. London Dragway                         48

5. Music City Raceway                    42

6. Centerville Dragway                    37

7. Brainerd Motorsports Park          32

8. Memphis Int’l Raceway               28

9. Gleason Raceway Park               21

10. Ozark Raceway Park                 2

Last modified on Monday, 02 January 2023

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals Division 9
Summit Team Finals

South Carolina Motorplex
Thursday, September 28th - Saturday, September 30th
Summit Team Finals Division 8
Summit Team Finals

Alabama International Dragway
Thursday, September 28th - Monday, October 2nd
Summit World Finals
Summit SuperSeries, Summit SuperSeries World Finals

Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, October 5th - Saturday, October 7th