IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Mid-Michigan Motorplex Emerges Victorious at IHRA Division 5 Summit Team Finals

Sunday, 25 September 2022

MARTIN, Mich. — Mid-Michigan Motorplex racked up points in the early rounds of eliminations to win Saturday’s International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 5 (Thunder) Summit Team Finals at US 131 Motorsports Park.

Mid-Michigan scored a 69-63 victory over a hard-charging US 131 Motorsports Park. Muncie Dragway finished third with 57 points.

Other participating teams represented: US 41 Motorsports Park, Bunker Hill Drag Strip, The Ubly Dragway, Grand Bend Motorplex, Great Lakes Dragaway and Lapeer Dragway.

BSC 9418

Michael Churley from Lake Village, Ind., was the Top (Box) winner as final-round opponent Bill Thompson fouled at the start. Churley had a .019 start and then rocketed down the drag strip in 4.801 seconds at 142.95 mph against a 4.81 dial-in. Thompson from Selma, Ind., was -.003 too quick off the tree before his run of 5.585 seconds and 122.92 mph against a 5.59 dial-in.

BSC 9461

Rich Vanells from Lowell, Mich., put together a solid package of 7.286 seconds at 92.08 mph against a 7.28 dial-in, along with a .015 reaction time, to win the Mod (No Box) final. Chris Mesbergen from Norton Shores, Mich., had a 7.175-second elapsed time at 94.64 mph against a 7.16 dial-in and a .024 reaction time.

BSC 9424

In the Sportsman (Street) class, Aaron Richards from Schereville, Ind., won on a holeshot against Derek Simon from Continental, Ohio. Richards had the better reaction time .036 to .073 and then posted a 7.663-second pass at 89.93 mph against a 7.65 dial-in. Simon finished in 7.522 seconds at 89.91 mph against a 7.54 dial-in.

BSC 9438

Braden Peters from Howell, Mich., competed the list of winners in the Junior Dragster ranks. He had a final-round effort of 7.887 seconds and 83.96 mph against a 7.90 dial-in as both drivers broke out. Runner-up Ethan Russell from Adrian, Mich., had a better start .029 to .063, but was too far off his 11.90 dial-in. He finished in 11.845 seconds at 55.90 mph.

BSC 9449


Team standings

1. Mid-Michigan Motorplex             69

2. US 131 Motorsports Park           63

3. Munice Dragway                         57

4. US 41 Motorsports Park             53

5. Bunker Hill Drag Strip                 39

6. The Ubly Dragway                      22

7. Grand Bend Motorplex               21

8. Great Lakes Dragaway                9

9. Lapeer Dragway                          3

Last modified on Sunday, 15 January 2023

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

No events