IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Cordova Dragway Captures IHRA Midwest Summit Team Finals Title

Sunday, 11 September 2022

OSKALOOSA, Iowa — Cordova Dragway captured the victory at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Midwest Summit SuperSeries Team Finals at Eddyville Raceway Park.

The Illinois track victory ended a three-year reign by the home track as Midwest champions with a 62-55 win over Eddyville. Teams from Wisconsin International Raceway, Mo-Kan Dragway, Central Illinois Dragway, Onawa Dragway and Thunder Valley Dragways also participated.

DAC 6371

Brian Barten led the list of individual winners as the Camanche, Iowa racer won the Top (Box) final on a holeshot. He left the tree in .005 and posted a 5.925-second run at 117.13 mph against a 5.92 dial-in. Runner-up Dennis Hagedorn from Kirksville, Missouri had a .018 reaction time and finished in 4.49 seconds a 147.01 mph against a 4.48 dial-in. 

DAC 6373

Pete McGlynn, a Long Grove, Iowa racer and Cordova Dragway champion, took the Mod (No Box) trophy. He roared down the drag strip in 5.298 seconds at 126.09 mph against a 5.29 dial-in. Jace Deering from Clinton, Iowa was runner-up after going 5.835 seconds against a 5.81 dial-in. McGlynn had a slight .020 to .027 advantage at the start.

DAC 6363

Jimmie Barrett repeated as the Sportsman champion at the Midwest Team Finals. Barrett, the runner-up at the 2021 IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals, won at the starting line when final-round opponent Pam Vogel left too quick. The Havana, Illinois driver had a solid 7.566-second elapsed time at 88.90 mph against a 7.58 dial-in. Vogel had a good run down the track at 7.514 seconds and 88.99 mph against a 7.53 dial-in.

DAC 6326

Carter Brand from Lynnville, Iowa took home the Ironman as Junior Dragster winner. He also won on a holeshot with a .049 start to .119 for James Pfohl from Clinton, Iowa. Brand combined his good start with an 8.787 elapsed time at 81.67 mph against an 8.79 dial-in. Pfohl, trying to match an 8.90 dial-in finished in 8.88 seconds at 74.17 mph.

DAC 6343

Team standings 

1. Cordova Dragway                62

2. Eddyville Raceway Park      55

3. Wisconsin Int’l Raceway      36

4. Mo-Kan Dragway                 29

5. Central Illnois Dragway        28

6. Onawa Dragway                  24

(tie) Thunder Valley Dragway  24

Last modified on Tuesday, 10 January 2023

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner



 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals Division 9
Summit Team Finals

South Carolina Motorplex
Thursday, September 28th - Saturday, September 30th
Summit Team Finals Division 8
Summit Team Finals

Alabama International Dragway
Thursday, September 28th - Monday, October 2nd
Summit World Finals
Summit SuperSeries, Summit SuperSeries World Finals

Holly Springs Motorsports
Thursday, October 5th - Saturday, October 7th