IHRA ihra-sportsman-2020-btn ihra-sss-btn ihra-team-finals-btn2 drag-review
navbar bottom
  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 6350

Amarillo Dragway wins D7 Summit Team Finals; Carter, Gossett, Low advance in Summit SuperSeries

Tuesday, 16 September 2014
Division 7 Summit Team Finals team champions Amarillo Dragway Division 7 Summit Team Finals team champions Amarillo Dragway

The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Team Finals presented by AMSOIL season continued over the weekend with the third team event of the season as teams from Texas, Arizona and New Mexico traveled to Caprock Motorplex for the Division 7 Summit Team Finals.

Amarillo Dragway took the team championship by a healthy margin over host team Caprock Motorplex, accruing 36 points during the weekend to take the win. Caprock Motorplex came in second with 23 points, followed by Hobbs Motorsports Park with 21 points, Caprock Motorplex Team 2 with 9 points and Caprock Motorplex Team 3 with six points. Other teams participating included El Paso Motorplex and Southwestern International Raceway.

D7 Top Main Event

   Division 7 Top ET Main Event winner and SuperSeries representative Courtland Carter

In the Summit SuperSeries presented by AMSOIL Division 7 runoff, Courtland Carter, Benny Gossett and Lizzie Low won their respective classes and will advance to the Summit SuperSeries World Championship October 10-11 during the Summit World Finals weekend.

Courtland Carter, representing Hobbs Motorsports Park in New Mexico, advanced in the Top ET Summit SuperSeries runoff over Jerry Ross. Ross, representing his home track of Caprock Motorplex, just turned on the red bulb by -.002 in the final, advancing Carter to the World Finals. With the win in hand, Carter ran a 5.116 second elapsed time on a 4.93 dial at 121.29 mph.

In Mod ET, Benny Gossett advanced at his home track with an exciting win over Tim O’Moore. Gossett put together a .062 package in the final with a .027 light coupled with a 5.645 on a 5.61 at 120 mph to move past Southwestern International Raceway’s Moore, who had a 6.339 on a 6.30 at 108.70.

D7 Mod Main Event

   Division 7 Mod ET Main Event winner Ben Upchurch

Finally in Junior Dragster, Lizzie Low advanced out of the Division 7 Team Finals for the second year in a row, besting Khyrie Murdaugh of El Paso Motorplex. Low, another Caprock Motorplex regular, had a tremendous .020 light paired with a 7.976 on a 7.90 at 77.05 to take the win. Murdaugh had a 12.119 on a 12.08 at 52.26 in the runner-up effort.

Other big winners from the Division 7 Team Finals were Main Event winners Courtland Carter (Top ET) from Hobbs Motorsports Park, Ben Upchurch (Mod ET) from Amarillo Dragway and Leslie Grissom Jr. (Junior Dragster) from Caprock Motorplex.

D7 Junior Main Event

   Division 7 Junior Dragster Main Event winner Leslie Grissom Jr.

The following are the final results from the Division 7 Summit Team Finals presented by AMSOIL event at Caprock Motorplex.

Division 7 Summit Team Finals Team Standings

1. Amarillo Dragway – 36
2. Caprock Motorplex – 23
3. Hobbs Motorsports Park – 21
4. Caprock Motorplex Team 2 – 9
5. Caprock Motorplex Team 3 – 6
6. El Paso Motorplex – 4
7. Southwestern International Raceway – 2


SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF TOP ET - Courtland Carter, Hobbs Motorsports Park, (.022) 5.116 on 4.93, 121.29 def. Jerry Ross, Caprock Motorplex, (-.002) foul

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF MOD ET - Benny Gossett, Caprock Motorplex, (.027) 5.645 on 5.61, 120.00 def. Tim O’Moore, Southwestern International Raceway, (.040) 6.339 on 6.30, 108.70

SUMMIT SUPERSERIES RUNOFF JUNIOR DRAGSTER - Lizzie Low, Caprock Motorplex, (.020) 7.976 on 7.90, 77.05 def. Khyrie Murdaugh, El Paso Motorplex, (.060) 12.119 on 12.08, 52.26


Main Event Top ET – Courtland Carter, Hobbs Motorsports Park, (.020) 6.262 on 4.99, 76.14 def. Johnny Ables, Hobbs Motorsports Park, (-.500) foul

Main Event Mod ET – Ben Upchurch, Amarillo Dragway, (.081) 7.014 on 7.00, 95.74 def. Michael Cozart, Hobbs Motorsports Park, (.124) 7.462 on 7.42, 92.02

Main Event Juniors – Leslie Grissom Jr., Caprock Motorplex, 8.335 on 8.26, 67.77 def. Josh Hunt, Caprock Motorplex, 7.962 on 7.94, 80.36

Team Captains Race – Kamron Wright, Caprock Motorplex, (.137) 9.148 on 9.10, 78.81 def. Clayton Pruiett, Hobbs Motorsports Park, (-.007) foul

Last modified on Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px


Abenity Sidebar Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular - Centerville Dragway (Single Event)
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Centerville Dragway
Sunday, June 5th
Sportsman Spectacular - Union Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Union County Dragway
Friday, June 10th - Sunday, June 12th
Onawa Dragway - Sportsman Spectacular Event
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Onawa Dragway
Saturday, July 9th - Sunday, July 10th
Sportsman Spectacular - Empire Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Empire Dragway
Friday, July 29th - Sunday, July 31st
Sportsman Spectacular - Maryland International Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Maryland International Raceway
Friday, August 19th - Sunday, August 21st