IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Multiple Racers Leave London Dragway with ‘Big Buck’ Victories

Saturday, 28 October 2023

LONDON, Ky. — Three days of exciting racing, big payouts and a win by a former IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Champion highlighted the “Big Buck Sch-Bang” at London Dragway last weekend.

Racing took place Friday through Sunday with the prestigious IHRA Ironman trophies awarded to the winners in the Top, Mod, Sportsman and Junior Dragster classes.

Tim Klopfenstein got the action started Friday with his $5,000 win in Gamblers Box/No Box Combo race. He beat Rob Major at the tree and then ran 4.86 seconds at 137.78 mph in his dragster against a 4.85 dial-in to take the win. Travis Snowden was the winner of the No Box class.

Tim Klopfenstein

Robert Gregory got the starting line advantage over Klopfenstien to win Saturday’s $10,000-to-win Top final. Gregory posted a 6.433-second run at 104.82 mph on a 6.43 dial. Klopfenstein had another strong effort going 4.852 seconds at 137.91 mph against a 4.85 dial-in. 

Robert Gregory

Brian Hagler got the holeshot and then matched his 5.96 dial-in at 113.38 mph for the $2,000 Mod victory. Ryan Morris took runner-up honors with a 6.935-second pass at 97.74 mph on a 6.94 dial.

Brian Hagler

Kole Pritchett won the 64-car shootout paying $7,500 when final-round opponent Aaron Jeffers broke out. Pritchett went 4.593 seconds at 149.20 mph against a 4.59 dial-in. Jeffers barely missed his 5.60 dial-in time with a 5.955-second run at 121.65 mph.

Kole Pritchett

Megan Chesnut pocketed $2,000 for the 32-car No Box Shootout with a winning package of 5.661 seconds at 112.30 mph, along with a .012 reaction time. His quick time at the start was the difference as Chris Weber matched his 5.54 dial-in at 123.15 mph.

Megan Chesnut

Toby Daniels, the 2018 IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Champion, captured the Sportsman win by gaining the advantage at the tree and then going 8.225 seconds at 74.89 mph on an 8.22 dial. Randall Campbell finished in 8.038 seconds at 91.99 mph on a 7.99 dial.

Toby Daniels

Hunter Davis captured the Junior Dragster win with a 7.947-second run at 78.47 mph along with a .146 reaction time. Avery Bolding, who won the Race of Champions at the 2022 World Finals, finished runner-up with an 8.068-second pass at 80.88 mph on a 8.00 dial.

Hunter Davis

Josh Dykes was the winner of Sunday’s $10,000 Top ET race. He got the holeshot and then paired it with a 4.664-second run at 147.88 mph on 4.65 dial. Drew Smith had a solid effort with a 5.043-second pass at 133.93 mph on a 5.03 dial in the final. 

Josh Dykes

The $2,000 Mod final featured two excellent efforts with Jake Ball victorious on a holeshot. He went down the track in 6.985 seconds at 96.55 mph against a 6.98 dial-in. Runner-up Jayson Daniel matched his 6.19 dial-in at 105.58 mph.

Jake Ball

Fred Mitchell brought home the Sportsman victory when Gary Shinnbroke out in the final round. Shinn got the advantage at the tree, but Mitchell’s winning run saw him finish in 8.063 seconds at 84.99 on an 8.02 dial.

Fred Mitchell

Shyanne Polan was Sunday’s Junior Dragster winner with a 7.807-second run at 81.37 mph on a 7.78 dial. Polan had a slightly better reaction time which allowed her to edge runner-up Kaley Paynter, who was a little closer to a 7.90 dial-in with a 7.918-second run at 80.94 mph.

Shayanne Polan

Click here to check out the London Dragway Facebook page for updates on other races coming up.