IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Perfect Start by Rogers Highlights State Capitol Ironman Classic

Thursday, 17 November 2022

PORT ALLEN, La. — Silas Rogers had a perfect start to win the Super Pro (Box) main event at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Ironman Classic race last Saturday at State Capitol Raceway.

Rogers combined the .000 light with a run of 5.205-seconds at 133.69 mph to take home the $2,000 top prize at the race. Runner-up Matt Richard came up heartbreakingly close, losing on a foul as the result of a -.001 red light.

12113370 10153584283411132 5942616218555864709 o

Bruce Lundberg captured the Mod (No Box) title on a holeshot with his .031 to .081 advantage over Travis Thibodeaux. Lundberg posted a run of 5.866 seconds at 116.76 mph for the $1,200 victory. Thibodeaux finished in 5.457 seconds at 125.10 mph.

In a family affair in Top Doorslammers, James Marceaux posted a winning package of 5.357 seconds at 130.28 mph against a 5.35 dial-in with a .013 reaction time. His son, Jesse Marceaux, ended in 5.216 seconds against a 5.21 dial-in with a .026 reaction time.

James Marceaux

A Quick 16 race matched the Top Doorslammers top prize with $1,000-to-win. Pete Labarre III drove home with the win, putting together a 4.918-second pass at 139.71 mph against a 4.91 dial-in. Tony Lulei Jr. had a 4.842 elapsed time at 139.97 with a 4.82 dial-in. Lulei did have the slightly better start .021 to .024 for Labarre.

Mike Simoneaux was the Sportsman winner as final-round opponent David Olinde lost on a foul. Simoneaux posted a 9.394-second elapsed time at 72.08 mph. Olinde, who was -.008 too quick at the start, went down the drag strip in 9.143 seconds.

Texas racer Michael Turman rode his motorcycle to the Street win, going 6.985 seconds at 84.52 mph after a .104 reaction time. His final-round opponent, Doug Barnes, left too early with a -.066 reaction time.

Michael Turman

There were three classes of Junior Dragsters with both Corbin Walker and Jacob Hickey having exceptional starts in the Masters class. Walker paired his .008 reaction time with an 8.241-second pass against an 8.05 dial-in. Hickey was even better at the tree with a .005 start, but broke out against his 8.06 dial-in.

Kane Kern was the Advanced winner with a 9.090 run against an 8.98 dial-in, along with a .048 reaction time. Charlie Rentrop earned runner-up honors with a 12.026-second run against an 11.89 dial-in and a .062 reaction time.

The Beginners class saw Carson Graham post a winning effort of 11.83 seconds against an 11.90 dial-in. Charlie Hyatt finished in 11.807 seconds with an 11.93 dial-in. Hyatt had the better start at .258 to .300 for Graham.

The IHRA Ironman Classic program is offered to all member tracks. Prior to this program, a sportsman racer could only win an Ironman if they traveled to a divisional or IHRA national event. This program gives local tracks a chance to create extra excitement in their bracket program and offer competitors a chance to win the prestigious Ironman.

Congratulations to all the winners and others who participated in the Ironman Classic at State Capitol Raceway. 

Last modified on Thursday, 17 November 2022

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals Division 6
Onawa Dragway
Thursday, August 24th - Saturday, August 26th
Summit Team Finals Division 5
US 41 Dragstrip
Thursday, September 7th - Saturday, September 9th
Summit Team Finals Division 3
Dragway 42
Thursday, September 7th - Saturday, September 9th
Summit Team Finals Division 2
Holly Springs Motortsports
Thursday, September 14th - Saturday, September 16th
Summit Team Finals Division 4
Xtreme Raceway Park
Thursday, September 21st - Saturday, September 23rd