IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Florida Racers Highlight IHRA Summit SuperSeries Sportsman National Top 10 List

Tuesday, 15 November 2022

HOUSE SPRINGS, Missouri — Two ends of the Sunshine State are represented as world champion Larry Doty and Joey Branhof highlight the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit SuperSeries Sportsman National Top 10 list.

Doty, a veteran racer from Margate, Florida representing Palm Beach International Raceway, had sterling reaction times in his Mercury Cougar on his way to capturing the Sportsman title at the IHRA Summit SuperSeries World Finals at Holly Springs, Mississippi. It was a well-earned and extra meaningful title for Doty, who was the 2019 World Finals runner-up.

DAC 1218

While Doty was from the Southern end of the state, Joey Branhof represented the North Florida Motorplex with his seventh-place finish in the national standings.

Todd Payne from Farmington Dragway was second nationally. The Yadkinville, N.C., driver also captured the Electric Vehicle title in his Tesla. 

Todd Payne 2

Brad Davis, who made the semifinals at his home track at Holly Springs Motorsports, was third in the national standings. He finished one spot ahead of Travis Kissinger from Motor Mile Dragway in Virginia.

Kirk Breier from Onawa (Iowa) Dragway completed the list of top-five racers, one spot ahead of Tyler Hunt, a Texan representing Amarillo Dragway.

311797721 10159984658712432 3895459096720256471 n

Matt Nap from Michigan’s US 131 Motorsports Park finished eighth in the standings. Thomas Wetter Jr. added to the rich history of Bunker Hill Drag Strip, the oldest drag strip in Indiana, by placing ninth. Bobby Crabtree from Kentucky’s Beacon Dragway rounded out the list of top-10 Sportsman racers for the 2022 season.


2022 IHRA Summit SuperSeries National (Sportsman) Top 10

1. Larry Doty, Palm Beach International Raceway

2. Todd Payne, Farmington Dragway

3. Brad Davis, Holly Springs Motorsports

4. Travis Kissinger, Motor Mile Dragway

5. Kirk Breier, Onawa Dragway

6. Tyler Hunt, Amarillo Dragway

7. Joey Branhof, North Florida Motorplex

8. Matt Nap, US 131 Motorsports Park

9. Thomas Wetter Jr., Bunker Hill Drag Strip

10. Bobby Crabtree, Beacon Dragway

Last modified on Wednesday, 16 November 2022

Social Media Banner IHRA BACKGROUND 300px x 149px

DRM Sidebar Banner

 Facebook IHRA NEW  Instagram IHRA NEW  Twitter IHRA NEW  Youtube IHRA NEW

IHRA calendarheader

Summit Team Finals Division 6
Onawa Dragway
Thursday, August 24th - Saturday, August 26th
Summit Team Finals Division 5
US 41 Dragstrip
Thursday, September 7th - Saturday, September 9th
Summit Team Finals Division 3
Dragway 42
Thursday, September 7th - Saturday, September 9th
Summit Team Finals Division 2
Holly Springs Motortsports
Thursday, September 14th - Saturday, September 16th
Summit Team Finals Division 4
Xtreme Raceway Park
Thursday, September 21st - Saturday, September 23rd