IHRA-Motorsports-2013-Final-4C-vector web ihra-sportsman-btn ihra-sss-btn ihra-team-finals-btn2 drag-review
navbar bottom

Final-Round Recap, IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship at San Antonio Raceway

Monday, 20 March 2017

Marion, Texas — The International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Summit Sportsman National Championship moved to San Antonio Raceway on May 17-19 for the fourth of 15 weekends that comprise the inaugural IHRA Summit Sportsman National Championship.

Competitors entered the weekend events in the following classes: Top Sportsman, Top Dragster, Super Stock, Stock, Quick Rod, Super Rod, Hot Rod and Junior Dragster.  Full results are available here:  http://dragstory.com/forum/index.php?board=289.0 ; a weekend recap is below:

Saturday, March 18, 2017:

Top Dragster: Kohl Weaver from Lubbock, Texas won on a holeshot against Scott Ball of San Antonio in the Top Dragster final. Weaver used a .002 reaction time along with a 6.62-second pass at 207.37 mph on a 6.59 dial-in.  Ball had a .036 reaction time with his 7.24-second effort at 184.80 mph and a 7.24 dial-in.


Top Sportsman: Monte Weaver from Lubbock, Texas stopped Marty Blair’s bid for a second straight win in the Top Sportsman final. Weaver had a 6.84-second run at 216.66 mph on a 6.83 dial-in, along with a .007 reaction time. Blair, a Spicewood, Texas driver who won the last SSNC race at Baton Rouge, finished with 7.62-second pass at 179.78 mph on a 7.63 dial-in and a .019 reaction time.

 Sat TD TS Win

Quick Rod: Kevin Picha from Sweethorne, Texas had a quick reaction time of .003 to top Robert Garbs from Sealy, Texas in the Quick Rod final. Picha combined the quick start with an 8.92-second pass at 177.58 mph. Garbs had a .006 reaction time along with an 8.86-second run at 158.12 mph.


Super Rod: Vernon Rowland from Blanchard, Okla., emerged victorious as Van Arnold from Houston was runner-up for a second straight race. Rowland, the No. 1 qualifier, had a 9.89-second effort at 154.16 mph, along with a .013 reaction time. Arnold had a 9.89-second run at 163.76 mph, but had a .033 reaction time.

 SR Final

Hot Rod: Tony Jones from Gilmer, Texas put together a package of a 10.91-second pass at 145.21 mph and an .008 reaction time to capture the Hot Rod trophy. Danny Brossman from Gardenridge, Texas had a 10.89-elapsed time at 125.17 mph, along with a .015 reaction time. 


Super Stock: A pair of Louisiana drivers were the top two qualifiers and raced their way to the Super Stock final. Michael Bryant of New Orleans snagged the final-round win with a 9.99-second pass at 134.05 mph and a .012 reaction time on a 10-second dial-in. Burlin Taylor of Hammond, La., red-lighted on his 10.26-second run at 129.05 mph against a 10.30 dial-in.


Stock: The Stock No. 1 qualifier Jimmy Hidalgo of Donaldsville, La., posted a 10.92-second run at 112.61 mph against a 10.90 dial-in with a .026 reaction time. Jackie Hibbard of Humble, Texas finished with a 13.55-elapsed time at 86.19 mph on a 13.54 dial-in. But, he was slower at the starting line with a .048 reaction time.


Junior Dragster: Cory Gulitti of Spring, Texas, came from deep in the field as the No. 15 qualifier to take the Junior Dragster victory. Gulitti had an 8.07-second run at 74.64 mph and a .009 reaction time against an eight-second dial-in. Runner-up Bryce Granier of Labadieville, La., finished at 7.97 seconds and 77.39 mph on a 7.90-dial in with a .061 reaction time.

Sunday, March 19, 2017:

Top Dragster: Chase Murray of Orange, Texas captured the victory when Eli McGee of Gray, La., red-lighted in the Top Dragster final. Murray finished with an 8.84 elapsed time at 93.30 mph on a 6.41 dial-in after a .013 reaction time. McGee posted a 17.30-second time at 43.70 mph on a 6.86 dial-in after triggering the lights with a -.001 at the tree.


Top Sportsman: Marty Blair of Spicewood, Texas returned to the winners’ ranks with a .009 reaction time and a 7.63-second run at 184.12 mph on a 7.60 dial-in. Marion Goates of Troy, Texas ran a 7.22 elapsed time at 194.30 mph on a 7.18 dial-in, but was came up short with a .029 reaction time.


Quick Rod: Michael Steen of Amarillo, Texas won at the starting tree with a .023 reaction time to .074 to keep Kevin Picha of Sweethome, Texas from the weekend sweep in Quick Rod. Steen posted an 8.96-second pass at 168.48 mph. Picha ran an 8.94-second e.t. at 178.01 mph.

Sun QR Final 

Super Rod: It was another holeshot decision in Super Rod where Shannon Brinkley of Highlands, Texas had a .008 reaction time to .025 for Charlie Stewart of Azle, Texas. Brinkley had a 9.92-second run at 155.44 mph. Stewart finished with a 9.91-second pass at 159.01 mph.


Hot Rod: Cole Cummings of Hammond, La., posted a 10.95-second run at 134.57 mph with a .021 reaction time for the Hot Rod win. San Antonio racer Otto Struxness finished runner-up with a 10.95-second pass at 126.33 mph and a .048 reaction time.

 Sun Stk SS HR win 90

Super Stock: The Cummings family had more reason to celebrate as Slate Cummings of Hammond, La., used a 9.40-second run at 144.00 mph, combined with a .013 reaction time on a 9.36 dial-in to get the victory. Phillip Giles of Flatonia, Texas was runner-up with a 9.43-second pass at 143.36 mph and a .080 reaction time on a 9.44 dial-in.


Stock: Slate Cummings doubled up with his win in the Stock class. He had a .003 reaction time to go along with his 10.47-second pass at 122.35 mph on a 10.43 dial-in. Jimmy Hidalgo of Donaldsville, La., missed out on the weekend sweep after posting a 10.91-second run at 109.68 mph with a .039 reaction time on a 10.88 dial-in.


Junior Dragster: Caden Meuth of Boerne, Texas took top honors in the Junior Dragster division with a solid run. With a .014 reaction time, he had a 7.89-second pass at 79.96 mph on a 7.90 dial-in. Kenneth Hillen of San Antonio went down the track in 7.88 seconds at 82.43 mph on a 7.90 dial-in, but was slowed with a .063 reaction time.

Last modified on Thursday, 13 July 2017
IHRA socialMedia facebook IHRA socialMedia twitter IHRA socialMedia youtube
  Instagram App   

IHRA calendarheader
State Capitol Raceway Summit Sportsman Spectacular Event
State Capitol Raceway
Friday, March 29th - Sunday, March 31st
Dragway 42 Summit Sportsman Spectacular Event
Dragway 42
Friday, May 17th - Sunday, May 19th
Darlington Dragway Summit Sportsman Spectacular Event
Darlington Dragway
Friday, May 24th - Sunday, May 26th
Keystone Raceway Park Summit Sportsman Spectacular Event
Keystone Raceway Park
Friday, June 7th - Sunday, June 9th
US 131 Motorsports Park Summit Sportsman Spectacular Event
Us 131 Motorsports Park
Friday, July 12th - Sunday, July 14th