IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Weekend Wrap-up: Cobb, Webb lead way at Summit Pro-Am Tour at Piedmont Dragway

Monday, 30 June 2014

The IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Pro-Am Tour presented by AMSOIL continued over the weekend as the best racers from Division 9 gathered for an exciting weekend of racing at Piedmont Dragway.

Johnny Cobb and Christopher Webb, both in the hunt for a divisional championship in the Raiders Division, led the way at the second stop of the Division 9 season with wins in Super Rod and Hot Rod respectively. Joining them in the winner’s circle were Tim West (Top Sportsman), Dennis Rinehardt (Top Dragster), Brandon Peterson (Super Stock), Eddie Longhany Jr. (Stock), Franklin Dibartolomeo (Quick Rod), Blake Hickman (Junior Master), Blane Parrish (Junior Advanced) and Hunter Moss (Junior Beginner).

Cobb, the current points leader in Super Rod, drove his classic Chevrolet Roadster to a win over Larry Chapman with a remarkable .013 package. Cobb, from Macclesfield, N.C., had a .009 reaction time and backed it up with a 6.404 at 112.99 miles per hour in the 6.40 index class to best Chapman who had a 6.435 in his ’95 Thunderbird.

In Hot Rod, a tremendous points battle continued between Four Oaks, N.C. native Christopher Webb and Greensboro, N.C. native Glenn Ferguson. Webb, second in points entering the event, drove his ’86 Buick to an exciting win over the former Hot Rod world champion in a double-breakout with Webb nearly running dead-on the number in the 7.00 index class with a .005 reaction time and a 6.999 pass at 100.16 mph, while Ferguson crossed the finish line with a 6.988 at 105.22 mph.

Tim West and Dennis Rinehardt added thrilling wins in IHRA’s fastest classes, with West besting former world champion Donny Urban and Rinehardt defeating current points leader Brett Nesbitt. Both Urban and Nesbitt broke out, while West and Rinehardt put together packages of .019 and .013 respectively.

Below are the complete results from the Summit Racing Equipment Pro-Am Tour presented by AMSOIL Division 9 race at Piedmont Dragway.


JULIAN, N.C. – Complete results from the IHRA Summit Racing Equipment Pro-Am Tour presented by AMSOIL Division 9 race at Piedmont Dragway

Top Sportsman – Tim West, Asheville, N.C., ’00 Monte Carlo, (.015) 4.854 on 4.85, 144.04 def. Donny Urban, ’06 Cobalt, (.016) 4.596 on 4.58, 154.71

Top Dragster – Dennis Rinehardt, Salisbury, N.C., dragster, (.012) 4.901 on 4.90, 141.30 def. Brett Nebsitt, Burlington, N.C., dragster, (.019) 4.551 on 4.54, 144.06

Super Stock – Brandon Peterson, Randleman, N.C., ’91 Camaro, (.049) 6.628 on 6.61, 100.27 def. James Stoneman, Winston Salem, N.C., ’71 Nova, (.087) 6.146 on 6.16, 111.38

Stock – Eddie Longhany Jr., Godwin, N.C., ’87 Camaro, (.031) 6.634, 96.56 def. Kevin Locklear, Sanford, N.C., ’71 Duster, (.044) 6.677, 100.35

Quick Rod – Franklin Dibartolomeo, Huntersville, N.C., dragster, (.022) 5.686 on 5.70, 137.65 def. Dale Harrison, Sanford, N.C., dragster, (-.009) foul

Super Rod – Johnny Cobb, Macclesfield, N.C., ’34 Chevy Roadster, (.009) 6.404 on 6.40, 112.99 def. Larry Chapman, Willow Springs, N.C., ’95 Thunderbird, (.037) 6.435 on 6.40, 120.49

Hot Rod – Chris Webb, Four Oaks, N.C., ’86 Buick, (.005) 6.999 on 7.00, 100.16 def. Glenn Ferguson, Greensboro, N.C., ’66 Fairlane, (.013) 6.988 on 7.00, 105.22

Junior Dragster Master – Blake Hickman, Laurinburg, N.C., dragster, (.011) 8.000 on 7.90, 79.73 def. Morgan Wilson, Laurens, S.C., dragster, (.108) 7.960 on 7.95, 82.47

Junior Dragster Advanced – Blane Parrish, Clayton, N.C., dragster, (.029) 8.922 on 8.90, 72.59 def. Hayden Lambert, Albemarle, N.C., (.085) 8.913 on 8.92, 74.11

Junior Dragster Beginner – Hunter Moss, Elon, N.C., dragster, (.391) 11.997 on 11.93, 53.20 def. Bryce Pittman, Selma, N.C., (.189) 11.899 on 11.90, 50.68

Last modified on Monday, 30 June 2014