IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Quaker City Motorsports Park Edges Keystone Raceway Park to Claim IHRA Division 3 Summit Team Finals Title

Sunday, 18 September 2022

WEST SALEM, Ohio — Quaker City Motorsports Park piled up points through the first six rounds to capture the International Hot Rod Association Division 3 (North Stars) Summit Team Finals championship at Dragway 42.

Quaker City Motorsports Park finished ahead 61-57 over Keystone Raceway Park in the overall team standings for their second IHRA Division 3 title in the last three years.

307640659 10159940059757432 8616606582151345715 n

Teams from Beaver Springs Dragway, Empire Dragway, Lancaster Motorplex, Dragway 42, I-64 Motorplex, Kuhnle Motorsports Park, Kentucky Dragway and Windy Hollow Dragway also participated.

It was a busy weekend of racing with the Race of Champions and gamblers’ races in addition to the main event. Separate stories about these events and special awards will also be found on the IHRA.com website. 

Ricky Roe captured the Top (Box) victory with a 5.934-second run at 111.22 against a 5.93 dial-in paired with a .015 reaction time. Chris Weinkamer rocketed down the track on a 4.551-second run at 151.98 mph against a 4.54 dial-in with a .028 reaction time to finish runner-up.


Jeff Kerl ran 6.438 at 105.24 mph against a 6.43 dial-in to take the Mod (No Box) victory. Joe Tharp Jr., the 2020 IHRA Sportsman World Champion, was his final-round opponent. Tharp had a slightly better reaction time .047 to .052, but finished just short with a 7.584 elapsed time at 90.78 mph against a 7.57 dial-in.

Jeff Kerl Mod Winner

Earl Hall was the Street winner with 7.503-second run at 84.49 mph against a 7.50 dial-in. He and final-round opponent Bruce Tharp Jr. both fouled at the start. Trying to match an 8.59 dial-in, Tharp finished his run in 8.576 seconds at 83.13 mph.

StreetWinner Earl Hall

Kevin Twardowski, who won a Saturday Gamblers’ race, capped off the weekend with a Motorcycle win on Sunday. He matched a 5.72 dial-in with a 5.722-second pass at 121.62 mph. Tom Varney finished in 5.411 seconds at 123.73 mph against a 5.40 dial-in, but tripped the red light.

Kevin Twardowski

Junior Dragster racer Logan Vitez also had a productive weekend with a Race of Champions victory and then winning Sunday’s main event. He went 7.977 seconds at 80.79 mph against a 7.97 dial-in. Shyanne Polan also reached the final round, but broke out by going 7.888 seconds at 82.27 mph against a 7.90 dial-in.

Jr Winner Logan Vitez 

Team Captains Race:

Dragway 42 (Ron Matcham) 11.09 on an 11.08 dial-in, .029 reaction time defeated Keystone Raceway Park (Greg Miller) 10.40 on a 10.45 dial-in, .118 reaction time


Team standings

1. Quaker City Motorsports Park   61

2. Keystone Raceway Park           57

3. Beaver Springs Dragway           51

4. Empire Dragway                        46

5. Lancaster Motorplex                  38

6. Dragway 42                               38

7. I-64 Motorplex                           34

8. Kuhnle Motorsports Park           31

9. Kentucky Dragway                    13

10. Windy Hollow Dragway            1

Last modified on Wednesday, 21 September 2022

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: Dragway 42
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Dragway 42
Saturday, May 20th
Sportsman Spectacular: Quaker City Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, June 22nd - Saturday, July 22nd