IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Coastal Plains Wins First-Ever IHRA Division 9 (Raiders) Summit Team Finals Title

Monday, 04 October 2021

HARTSVILLE, S.C. — Coastal Plains Dragway won its first-ever International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 9 (Raiders) Summit Team Finals championship Sunday at Darlington Dragway.

The Jacksonville, N.C., track finished 59-50 ahead of host Darlington Dragway. Farmington Dragway and Greer Dragway placed third and fourth. Other teams participating included: Ware Shoals Dragway, Union County Dragway, Piedmont Dragway, Pageland Dragway, South Carolina Motorplex, Elk Creek Dragway, Motor Mile Dragway, Palm Beach International Raceway and Cherokee Race Park. 


Coastal Plains grabbed both spots in the Top final, while other main event champions came from Farmington, South Carolina Motorplex and Ware Shoals. One of the highlights from eliminations saw Matthew Wright from South Carolina Motorplex make a perfect run to the 10,000th of a second.


A Saturday’s Gambler’s race drew an enormous field of entries and special awards were given in addition to the main event.


Main Event:

Top — Tim Lucas (Coastal Plains) 6.31 on a 6.31 dial-in, .515 reaction time defeated Jamie Silance (Coastal Plains) 6.13 on a 6.10 dial-in, .511 reaction time.


Mod — Mark Dudley Jr. (Farmington) 6.68 on a 6.67 dial-in, .519 reaction time defeated Jason Craft (Coastal Plains) 7.03 on a 7.01 dial-in, .520 reaction time.


Sportsman — Trey Sikes (South Carolina Motorplex) 7.52 on a 7.58 dial-in, .533 reaction time defeated Ben Dixon (Farmington) 11.07 on an 11.13 dial-in, .519 reaction time.


Junior — Anna Canfield (Ware Shoals) 8.00 on a 7.96 dial-in, .570 reaction time defeated Brayden Jones (Farmington) 8.34 on an 8.27 dial-in, .535 reaction time. 



Race of Champions:

Top — Ernie Humes 6.35 on a 6.34 dial-in, .004 reaction time defeated Tommy Duff 6.63 on a 6.64 dial-in, .026 reaction time.

Mod — Sammy Neese 6.45 on a 6.46 dial-in, .026 reaction time defeated Kaleb Greene 6.26 on a 6.28 dial-in, .043 reaction time.

Sportsman — Michael Baker 9.35 on a 9.33 dial-in, .040 reaction time defeated Nicholas Smith 10.35 on an 10.22 dial-in, .052 reaction time.

Junior — Slade Kincer 7.94 on a 7.92 dial-in, .116 reaction time defeated Liberty Derby 7.93 on an 7.90 dial-in, .151 reaction time.


Special Awards:

Best Appearing Open Bodied Car — Kevin Burkett

Best Engineered Open Bodied Car — Quinton Jones Jr.

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — Sammy Neese

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car — David Morris

Best Team Spirit — Darlington Dragway

Best Decorated Grandstand — Union County Dragway

Best Appearing Team — South Carolina Motorplex

Division 9 Track of the Year — Union County Dragway 



Team standings

1.     Coastal Plains Dragway  59        

2.     Darlington Dragway         50

3.     Farmington Dragway       45

4.     Greer Dragway                43

5.     Ware Shoals Dragway     35

6.     Union County Dragway    31

7.     Piedmont Dragway           31

8.     Pageland Dragway           29

9.     South Carolina Motorplex 24

10.  Elk Creek Dragway            22

11.  Motor Mile Dragway           10

12.  Palm Beach Int’l Raceway   9

13.  Cherokee Race Park           8

Last modified on Friday, 08 October 2021

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: Dragway 42
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Dragway 42
Saturday, May 20th
Sportsman Spectacular: Quaker City Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, June 22nd - Saturday, July 22nd