IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Beacon Dragway Captures IHRA Division 2 (Heat Wave) Championship

Tuesday, 06 October 2020
MILLINGTON, Tenn. — Beacon Dragway captured the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 2 (Heat Wave) Summit Team Finals held at Memphis International Raceway over the weekend.
Beacon Dragway took a 51-43 win over defending champions London Dragway. Other tracks who participated were: Memphis International Raceway, Holly Springs Motorsports, Brainerd Motorsports Park, Buffalo Valley Dragway, Knoxville, Dragway, Gulfport Dragway, Prescott Raceway,I-64 Dragway and Ozark Raceway.
Leading up to the main event, racers participated in Friday Gambler’s races, Saturday Gambler’s races and best of awards. 
Main Event:
Cody Graham (Holly Springs Motorsports) put together a winning package with 5.006 elapsed time at 107.59 mph against a 4.65 dial-in, along with a .002 reaction time. Runner-up Jason Ferrell (Holly Spring Motorsports) raced down the track in 7.695 seconds at 107.59 mph against a 6.23 dial-in.
Cody Graham Top
Wes Lockart (Beacon Dragway) defeated final-round opponent Ronnie Overstreet (Beacon Dragway). Lockart had a 5.653-second run at 121.69 mph with a .060 reaction time. Overstreet posted a 7.082 elapsed time at 97.32 mph but red lighted with a -.008 reaction time. 
Wesley Lockart
David Bigham (Brainerd Motorsports Park) captured the win with a 7.531 elapsed time at 90.88 mph coupled with a .031 reaction time. Brad Davis (Holly Springs Motorsports) posted a 7.971 second run at 83.87 mph with a .049 reaction time. 
David Bigham
 Gage Rachford (Buffalo Valley Dragway) had a .066 reaction time and then raced down the 1/8-mile at 8.032 seconds and 73.81 mph. Aubrey Loy (Knoxville Dragstrip) finished runner-up with an 9.180 elapsed time at 71.64 mph with a .182 reaction time. 
Gage Rachford
Friday Gambler’s Race
Top — Top-5 winners split purse. 
Mod — David Hammons (Gulfport Dragway) 6.85 on a 6.81 dial-in, .024 reaction time defeated Toby Daniels (London Dragway) 6.94 on a 6.93 dial-in, .067 reaction time.
Sportsman — Brad Davis (Holly Springs Motorsports) 8.06 on a 8.05 dial-in, .019 reaction time defeated Jimmy Harmon (Brainerd Motorsports Park) 7.64 on a 7.62 dial-in, -.018 reaction time.
Junior — Rylee Wells (Gulfport Dragway) 8.01 on a 7.98 dial-in, .019 reaction time defeated Joshua Varner (Brainerd Motorsports Park) 9.09 on a 9.03 dial-in, .028 reaction time.
Saturday Gambler’s Race
Top — Keith Thomas (Knoxville Dragstrip) 4.92 on a 4.92 dial-in, .010 reaction time defeated Sean Scott (Holly Springs Motorsports) 5.74 on a 5.70 dial-in, .006 reaction time.
Mod — Lucas Walker and Jamie Martin split the purse prior to the final round
Sportsman – Laine Blackburn (I-64 Motorplex) 7.59 on a 7.54 dial-in, .029 reaction time defeated Marty Goldsmith (Brainerd Motorsports Park) 7.79 on 7.67 dial in, .085 reaction time.
Junior — Gage Rachford (Buffalo Valley Dragway) 7.92 on an 7.92 dial-in, .058 reaction time defeated Rylee Wells (Gulfport Dragway) 8.01 on a 7.98 dial-in, .028 reaction time.
Special Awards
Best Appearing Open Bodied Car — Ashley Bargo, London Dragway
Best Engineered Open Bodied Car — Jody Jent, London Dragway 2
Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — Mike Payne, Gulfport Dragway
Best Engineered Full Bodied Car — Casey Geeslin, Holly Springs Motorsports 2
Best Appearing Junior Dragster — Juliet Mashburn, Brainerd Motorsports Park 2
Best Engineered Junior Dragster — Noah Jent, London Dragway 2
Best Team Spirit — Knoxville Dragstrip
Best Appearing Grandstands — London Dragway
Best Appearing Team — Beacon Dragway
Team Standings
Beacon Dragway
1.Beacon Dragway 51
2.London Dragway 43
3.Holly Springs Motorsports 37
4.Brainerd Motorsports Park 35
5.Brainerd Motorsports Park 2 33
6.Holly Springs Motorsports 2 32
7.Buffalo Valley Dragway 30
8.Memphis International Raceway 30
9.Knoxville Dragstrip 29
10.Knoxville Dragstrip 2 25
11.London Dragway 2 21
12.Gulfport Dragway 19
13.Gulfport Dragway 2 16
14.Prescott Raceway 16
15.Beacon Dragway 2 16
16.I-64 Motorplex 11
17.Ozark Raceway 9
18.Memphis International Raceway 2 5
19.I-64 Motorplex 2 1

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: Dragway 42
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Dragway 42
Saturday, May 20th
Sportsman Spectacular: Quaker City Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, June 22nd - Saturday, July 22nd