IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Capitol Raceway Earns Narrow Win at IHRA Division 1 Summit Team Finals

Monday, 14 October 2019

MECHANICSVILLE, Md. — Capitol Raceway scored a close win over home track Maryland International Raceway at the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 1 (Patriots) Summit Team Finals completed Monday.

Capitol Raceway ended with 55-51 points to keep Maryland International Raceway from repeating as Division 1 champions. US 13 Dragway, Sumerduck Dragway, Roxboro Motorsports Park, Richmond Dragway and Motor Mile Dragway also participated.AJP 4353

Leading up to the main event, racers participated in a Gambler’s race, Bogey, Golf Cart, and Big Wheels race and “best of” awards.


Main Event:


Frank Lecates (US 13 Dragway) had a winning effort with a .005 reaction time combined with a 4.787 elapsed time at 142.57 mph on a 4.78 dial-in. Runner-up Bobby Spence (Capitol Raceway) had a .015 reaction time and made a 4.307-second pass at 158.39 mph against a 4.30 dial-in.AJP 4342


Frank Thompson Jr. (Maryland International Raceway) used a 6.011-second pass at 109.34 mph against a 5.99 dial-in with a .010 reaction time to win. Mike Keyton (Roxboro Motorsports Park) matched his 5.82 dial-in at 118.02 mph, but was slower at the tree with a .099 start.AJP 4336

Junior Dragster

Gayge Farrell (Capitol Raceway) won with an 8.014-second run at 82.55 mph against an 8.09 dial-in with a .072 reaction time. Peyton Bunch (Sumerduck Dragway) had an 8.913 elapsed time against a 7.93 dial-in, but barely redlighted with a -.001 reaction time.AJP 4326

Other Results

Pit Vehicle Race

Ray Snoots (Maryland) defeated Bradley Tippett (Maryland) with a .002 reaction time and 9.03-second pass against a 9.00 dial-in. Tippett went down the track in 11.315 seconds against a 11.30 dial-in, along with a .049 reaction time.Division1-Patriots

Friday’s Gambler’s Race

Top — Bobby Bladen III (Capitol Raceway) 5.012 on a 5.00 dial-in, .001 reaction time defeated Jena Martin (Maryland International Raceway) 4.654 on a 4.67 dial-in, .045 reaction time.


Mod — Daryl Beauchamp (US 13 Dragway) 7.571 on a 7.59 dial-in, .016 reaction time defeated Ed Talbert (Capitol Raceway) 6.83 on a 6.83 dial-in, -.006 reaction time.


Junior — Allen Jenkins (Maryland International Raceway) 12.375 on an 11.90 dial-in, .022 reaction time defeated Zach Parlett (Maryland International Raceway) 10.414 on an 11.90 dial-in, .067 reaction time.


Saturday’s Gamblers Race

Top — Jerry Langley (Maryland International Raceway) 4.733 on a 4.72 dial-in, .006 reaction time defeated Ben Calhoun (Capitol Raceway) 4.708 on a 4.68 dial-in, .012 reaction time.


Mod — Kris Bunch (Summerduck Dragway) 8.979 on a 7.63 dial-in, .010 reaction time defeated Tony Mattera (Maryland International Raceway) 6.648 on a 6.65 dial-in, -.007 reaction time.


Junior — Cole Foskey (US 13 Dragway) 8.948 on an 8.91 dial-in, .010 reaction time defeated Zach Parlett (Maryland International Raceway) 9.38 on a 9.02 dial-in, .095 reaction time.


Friday Bogey Race:

Top — Ben Garnett (US 13 Dragway)

Mod — Steven Truitt (US 13 Dragway)

Junior — Keith Riddle (US 13 Dragway)


Special Awards:

Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — Anthony Whelan, Maryland International Raceway

Best Engineered Full Bodied Car — Bobby Bladen III, Capitol Raceway

Best Appearing Junior Dragster — Tori Tayman, Maryland International Raceway

Best Engineered Junior Dragster — Alyssa Tilghman, Richmond Dragway

Best Appearing Open Body Car — Jimmy Tayman, Capitol Raceway

Best Engineered Open Body Car — Jason Kirby, Maryland International Raceway

Best Team Spirit — Roxboro Motorsports Park

Best Appearing Sponsor Banner — Motor Mile Dragway

Best Appearing Team — Sumerduck Dragway


Team Standings

1. Capitol Raceway                               55

2. Maryland International Raceway       51

3. US Dragway                                      32

4. Sumerduck Dragway                         28

5. Roxboro Motorsports Park                16

6. Richmond Dragway                           15

7. Motor Mile Dragway                           3

Last modified on Monday, 14 October 2019

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: Dragway 42
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Dragway 42
Saturday, May 20th
Sportsman Spectacular: Quaker City Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, June 22nd - Saturday, July 22nd