IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Beacon Dragway Takes Narrow Win over Memphis in IHRA Division 2 West Summit Team Finals

Monday, 08 October 2018

MILLINGTON, Tenn. — Beacon Dragway scored a narrow 39-37 victory over home track Memphis International Raceway in the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 2 West (Heatwave) Summit Team Finals over the weekend.

In a closely contested team competition, Buffalo Valley Dragway finished third with 33 points, while Mountain Park Dragway and London Dragway tied with 32 points. Other tracks who participated were: Brainerd Motorsports Park, Prescott Raceway, Knoxville Dragway, Ozark Raceway Park, Holly Springs Motorsports and Gulfport Dragway.

Leading up to the main event, racers participated in Gambler’s races and “best of” awards.

Main Event:

Top — Jesse Bobo (Memphis) won on a holeshot with a .004 reaction time along with a 4.720-second run against a 4.70 dial-in to defeat James Barnes (Buffalo Valley) who finished in 5.943 seconds on a 5.93 dial-in after a .028 reaction time. 

Mod — Jared Bargo won an all-Mountain Park final with a 7.439-second run against a 7.10 dial-in, along with a .139 reaction time to defeat Jack Spivey who ran 7.361 seconds on a 6.34 dial-in with a .082 reaction time.

Junior — Khloe Wilson won a duel of Brainerd Motorsports racers with a quick reaction time of .006 and followed with a 7.963-second run on a 7.91 dial-in. Dave Brown finished runner up after going .063 at the start and finishing with an 8.924-second run on an 8.91 dial-in. Division2-HeatWave

Other Results

Thursday’s Gambler’s Race

Top — Wayne Trammell (Ozark) 4.977on a 4.97 dial-in, .045 reaction time defeated Paul Powers (London) 7.100 on a 7.05 dial-in, .012 reaction time. 

Mod — Phil Combs (Mountain Park) 6.558 on a 6.55 dial-in, .025 reaction time defeated Jared Bargo (Mountain Park) 7.134 on a 7.06 dial-in, .017 reaction time.

Junior — Trey Hensley (London) 9.135 on a 9,00 dial-in, .133 reaction time defeated Devin Johnson (Memphis) 8.178 on a 7.98 dial-in, -.026 reaction time.

Friday’s Moser Engineering Gambler’s Race

Top — Tim Hicks (Mountain Park) 6.22 on a 6.22 dial-in, .018 reaction time defeated Keenan Myers (Knoxville) 8.370 on an 8.33 dial-in, .088 reaction time. 

Mod — Phil Combs (Brainerd) 5.938 on a 5.93 dial-in, .028 reaction time defeated Cody Graham (Memphis) 6.720 on a 6.72 dial-in, .025 reaction time. 

Junior — Jesse Long (Brainerd) 8.008 on a 7.95 dial-in, .017 reaction time defeated Chris Palugi Jr. (Memphis) 8.500 on an 8.49 dial-in, .100 reaction time.

Saturday’s Gambler’s Race

Top — James Barnes (Buffalo Valley) 5.929 on a 5.93 dial-in, .009 reaction time defeated Nathan Naïve (Mountain Park) 5.398 on a 5.40 dial-in, .026 reaction time.

Mod — Brian Hughes (Prescott) 6.223 on a 6.25 dial-in, .051 reaction time defeated Travis Loy (Knoxville) 6.839 on a 6.85 dial-in, -.005 reaction time.

Junior — Carly Simpson (London) 8.031 on a 7.97 dial-in, .047 reaction time defeated Kaden Harrill (Knoxville) 8,321 on an 8.40 dial-in, .021 reaction time.

Track Operators Race

Terry Forsythe (Memphis) was the winner with an 8.854-second run against an 8.82 dial-in, paired with a .040 reaction time. Ricky Rice (Buffalo Valley) made a 9.974-second pass against a 10.00 dial-in with a .083 reaction time.

Special Awards

  • Best Appearing Open Bodied Car — Darrin Spears, Prescott Raceway
  • Best Engineered Open Bodied Car — Thomas Wilson, Brainerd Motorsport
  • Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — Chris Mohler, Beacon Dragway
  • Best Engineered Full Bodied Car — Tim Cunningham, Beacon Dragway 
  • Best Appearing Junior Dragster — Noah Jent, London Dragway
  • Best Engineered Junior Dragster — Emma Green, Brainerd Motorsports
  • Best Team Spirit — Knoxville Dragway
  • Best Appearing Team Banner — Brainerd Motorsports
  • Best Appearing Grandstands — Memphis International Raceway
  • Best Appearing Team — London Dragway
  • SSS Track of the Year — Prescott Raceway

Team Standings

1. Beacon Dragway                              39

2. Memphis International Raceway       37

3. Buffalo Valley Dragway                     33

4. Mountain Park Dragway                    32

5. London Dragway                               32

6. Brainerd Motorsports                        28

7. Prescott Racway                               22

8. Knoxville Dragway                            21

9. Ozark Raceway Park                        16

10. Holly Springs Motorsports              14

11. Gulfport Dragway                            7

Last modified on Monday, 08 October 2018

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: Dragway 42
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Dragway 42
Saturday, May 20th
Sportsman Spectacular: Quaker City Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, June 22nd - Saturday, July 22nd