IHRA NEW 2022        
navbar bottom

Pine Valley Raceway Captures IHRA Division 4 Summit Team Finals Championship

Monday, 09 October 2017

Pine Valley Raceway enjoyed the home track advantage in the International Hot Rod Association (IHRA) Division 4 (Renegades) Summit Team Finals held last weekend at the Lufkin, Texas facility.

Pine Valley’s No. 1 team raced to a 76-34 win over runner-up Ben Bruce Memorial Airpark in a competition that included Little River Raceway, San Antonio Raceway, Edinburg Raceway, Penwell Knights Raceway and Amarillo Dragway.

Leading up to the main event, racers participated in Gambler’s races and “best of” awards.


Click HERE for Event Photos

Main Event:


Preston Pennington from Edinburg Raceway matched his 4.54 dial-in at 149.55 mph, along with a .008 reaction time to win in Top. His final-round opponent, Dillon Bontrager from Little River Raceway had a little quicker reaction time, .005, but slightly off with a 6.044-second pass at 113.04 mph against a 6.03 dial-in.


Pine Valley Raceway drivers matched up in the Mod final. Drew Porcher won on a holeshot with a .005 reaction time. He made a 6.346-second pass at 104.80 mph against a 6.33 dial-in. Tim Ray had 6.462-second run at 104.87 mph against a 6.45 dial-in, paired with a .032 reaction time.

Junior Dragster

Dalton Lummus from Ben Bruce Memorial Airpark was the Junior Dragster winner after Ryland Hurst from Pine Valley Raceway red-lighted. Lummus posted an 8.749-second run at 52.45 mph with a .082 reaction time. Hurst went on down the track in 8.486 seconds at 75.91 mph.


Click HERE for Event Photos

Other Results

Track Operators Race

Dina Odom from San Antonio Raceway got the win light with a 10.263-second effort against a 10.17 dial-in, paired with a .173 reaction time. Mark Boehning from Amarillo Dragway fouled before making a 9.605-second pass against a 9.35 dial-in.


Friday’s Gambler’s Race

Top — Derek Patton (Pine Valley) 10.222 on a 5.24 dial-in, .032 reaction time defeated Greg Roberts (Pine Valley) 5.357 on a 4.97 dial-in, -.000 reaction time. 

Mod — Billy Janousek (Little River) 6.38 on a 6.37 dial-in, .047 reaction time defeated Kenneth Hillin (San Antonio) 6.737 on a 6.63 dial-in, .026 reaction time.

Junior — Chance Turman (Little River) 7.994 on a 7.98 dial-in, .080 reaction time defeated Hannah Anderson (Pine Valley) 9.044 on a 9.04 dial-in, -.039 reaction time.


Sunday’s Gambler’s Race 

Top — Brad Roberts (Pine Valley) defeated Dale Scales (Pine Valley) BROKE.

Mod — Drew Porcher (Pine Valley) 6.327 on a 6.34 dial-in, .046 reaction time defeated Troy Morgan (Pine Valley) 6.227 on a 6.24 dial-in, .049 reaction time.

Junior — Bubba Fontenot (Pine Valley) 9.351 on an 8.09 dial-in, -.015 reaction time defeated Chance Turman (Little River) 12.065 on an 8.21 dial-in, -.046 reaction time.


Click HERE for Event Photos

Special Awards

  • Best Appearing Open Bodied Car — Chris Gulitti, Evadale Raceway
  • Best Engineered Open Bodied Car — Stephen Lowery, Pine Valley Raceway
  • Best Appearing Full Bodied Car — David Holloway, Evadale Raceway
  • Best Engineered Full Bodied Car — Ronny Speer, Pine Valley Raceway
  • Best Appearing Junior Dragster — Jaycee Lowery, Pine Valley Raceway
  • Best Engineered Junior Dragster — Caden Meuth, San Antonio Raceway
  • Best Team Spirit — Pine Valley Raceway
  • Best Appearing Sponsor Banner — Pine Valley Raceway
  • Best Appearing Team — Evadale Raceway

Team Standings

1. Pine Valley Raceway No. 1                          76

2. Ben Bruce Memorial Airpark                        34

3. Little River Raceway                                    31

4. San Antonio Raceway                                  27

5. Pine Valley Raceway No. 2                          25

6. Edinburg Raceway                                       12

7. Penwell Knights Raceway                            12

8. Amarillo Dragway                                          7

Last modified on Monday, 09 October 2017

IHRA calendarheader

Sportsman Spectacular: Music City Raceway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Music City Raceway
Saturday, April 15th
Sportsman Spectacular: Xtreme Raceway Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Xtreme Raceway Park
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: London Dragway
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

London Dragway
Saturday, April 29th
Sportsman Spectacular: Dragway 42
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Dragway 42
Saturday, May 20th
Sportsman Spectacular: Quaker City Motorsports Park
IHRA Sportsman Spectacular

Quaker City Motorsports Park
Thursday, June 22nd - Saturday, July 22nd